Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Ottawa Senators

Senators News

News Release: Senators invite 24 players to 2014 rookie camp and tournament

by Staff Writer / Ottawa Senators

OTTAWA - The Ottawa Senators (@Senators) today announced the names of the 24 players who have been invited to take part in a four-team round-robin tournament from Sept. 13 to 15 at the Budweiser Gardens in London, Ont. The rookie camp and tournament marks the official launch of the Senators’ pre-season, presented by Canadian Tire and Jumpstart. Joining the Senators prospects at the tournament will be rosters comprised of prospects from the Chicago Blackhawks, Pittsburgh Penguins and host Toronto Maple Leafs.

The Senators rookies will be led by Luke Richardson, head coach of the Binghamton Senators, and assistants Steve Stirling and Tim Marks. Ottawa’s hockey staff will also be in London for the tournament.

The squad is comprised of two goaltenders, eight defencemen and 14 forwards (the roster is available below). Thirteen (13) players were drafted by the Senators, two were obtained as part of the package that saw Jason Spezza traded to Dallas in July, four were signed as free agents and five players will be participating under tryout agreements.

Fourteen (14) of the invited players skated in American Hockey League action last season (12 of whom did so with Binghamton) while goaltender Andrew Hammond was recalled to Ottawa on two occasions and made his NHL debut with the Senators in late February. The Senators’ 2014 rookie tournament roster is also comprised of two recent first-round NHL draft picks – Curtis Lazar (17th, 2013) and Matt Puempel (24th, 2011).

The Senators rookies are scheduled to begin this year’s camp with a practice at the Bell Sensplex on Friday, Sept. 12, at 9 a.m. before leaving for the tournament.

The Ottawa Senators’ 2014-15 rookie tournament roster is as follows:

Goaltenders: Chris Driedger (Calgary - WHL, Elmira - ECHL, Binghamton - AHL), Andrew Hammond (Binghamton - AHL, Ottawa - NHL).

Defencemen: Travis Brown (Moose Jaw - WHL, Victoria - WHL), Fredrik Claesson (Binghamton - AHL), Mitch Jones (Plymouth - OHL), Ben Harpur (Guelph - OHL), Stefan Leblanc (Sudbury - OHL, Mississauga - OHL), Alex Lepkowski (Oshawa - OHL, Greenville - ECHL, Rochester - AHL), Matt Murphy (Halifax - QMJHL), Troy Rutkowski (Elmira - ECHL, Binghamton - AHL).

Forwards: Jakub Culek (Elmira - ECHL, Binghamton - AHL), Vincent Dunn (Gatineau - QMJHL, Binghamton - AHL), Ryan Dzingel (Ohio State - Big Ten, Binghamton - AHL), Alex Guptill (Michigan - Big Ten, Texas - AHL), Darren Kramer (Binghamton - AHL), Curtis Lazar (Edmonton - WHL), Tobias Lindberg (Djurgardens - Swe-Jr., Djurgardens - Allsvenskan), Max McCormick (Ohio State - Big Ten), Nick Paul (North Bay - OHL), Francis Perron (Rouyn-Noranda - QMJHL), Shane Prince (Binghamton - AHL), Matt Puempel (Binghamton - AHL), Buddy Robinson (Elmira - ECHL, Binghamton - AHL), Garrett Thompson (Ferris State - WCHA, Binghamton - AHL).

2014 rookie tournament schedule at London’s Budweiser Gardens

Saturday, Sept. 13: Pittsburgh vs. Ottawa, 2 p.m.; Chicago vs. Toronto, 7 p.m.

Sunday, Sept. 14: Pittsburgh vs. Chicago, 2 p.m.; Ottawa vs. Toronto, 7 p.m.

Monday, Sept. 15: Chicago vs. Ottawa, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, Sept. 16: Toronto vs. Pittsburgh, 2 p.m.

The Senators have participated in 13 rookie tournaments since their first appearance in 1999. The team most recently participated in a rookie tournament in September, 2013, which was also held in London, Ont. Ottawa won the tournament in emerging with three victories in three games, including a 6-2 win over Toronto in the tournament finale.

Since the first tournament in 1999, past rookie team rosters have included the following notable participants who have also played for the Senators: Cody Ceci (2013), Jared Cowen (2010, 2011), Nick Foligno (2007), Eric Gryba (2011), Erik Karlsson (2009), Robin Lehner (2009, 2010, 2011), Chris Neil (1999), Jason Spezza (2001, 2002), Zack Smith (2008, 2009), Mark Stone (2010, 2011, 2013), Patrick Wiercioch (2010, 2011) and Mika Zibanejad (2011).

Visit the Senators website:
Follow the Senators on Twitter: @Senators
Like the Senators on Facebook:

- end -

View More