Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Ottawa Senators

Senators News

News Release: Senators invite 23 players to 2016 rookie camp and tournament

by Staff Writer / Ottawa Senators

OTTAWA - The Ottawa Senators (@Senators) today announced the names of the 23 players who have been invited to take part in a four-team round-robin tournament from Sept. 16 to 18 at Budweiser Gardens in London, Ont. The rookie camp and tournament marks the official launch of the Senators' pre-season, presented by Canadian Tire. Joining the Senators prospects at the tournament will be rosters composed of prospects from the Montreal Canadiens, Pittsburgh Penguins and host Toronto Maple Leafs.

The Senators rookies will be led by Kurt Kleinendorst, head coach of the Binghamton Senators, assistant coach, Steve Stirling and video coach, Dylan Crawford. Ottawa's hockey staff will also be in London for the tournament.

Ottawa's 2016 rookie team is composed of two goaltenders, eight defencemen and 13 forwards (roster available below). Twelve (12) players were drafted by the Senators, three were obtained in trades, three were signed as free agents and five players will be participating under tryout agreements.

Seven of the invited players skated in American Hockey League action last season (each of whom did so with Binghamton) while goaltenders Chris Driedger and Matt O'Connor, defenceman Ben Harpur and forward Nick Paul all saw playing time with Ottawa in 2015-16. With the exception of Driedger, each of the other three players made their respective NHL debuts. The Senators' 2016 rookie tournament roster is also composed of two first-round NHL draft picks - Logan Brown (11th, 2016) and Thomas Chabot (18th, 2015).

The Senators rookies are scheduled to begin this year's camp, which is being presented by Sport Chek, with a morning practice at the Bell Sensplex on Thursday, Sept. 15, before leaving for the tournament.

The Senators' 2016 rookie tournament roster:

Goaltenders: Chris Driedger (Binghamton - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Matt O'Connor (Binghamton - AHL, Ottawa - NHL).

Defencemen: Chris Carlisle (Evansville - ECHL, Binghamton - AHL), Thomas Chabot (Saint John - QMJHL), Cody Donaghey (Halifax - QMJHL, Moncton - QMJHL), Andreas Englund (Djurgårdens - Swe. Jr., Djurgårdens - SHL), Macoy Erkamps (Brandon - WHL), Ben Harpur (Evansville - ECHL, Binghamton - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Maxime Lajoie (Swift Current - WHL), Brady Reagan (Lethbridge - WHL).

Forwards: Filip Ahl (HV71 - Swe-Jr., Asplöven - Allsvenskan, Sundsvall - Allsvenskan, HV71 - SHL), Logan Brown (Windsor - OHL), Filip Chlapik (Charlottetown - QMJHL), Vincent Dunn (Evansville - ECHL, Binghamton - AHL), Anthony DiFruscia (Niagara - OHL), Gabriel Gagne (Victoriaville - QMJHL, Shawinigan - AHL), Ryan Graham (Saskatoon - WHL), Stephen Harper (Hamilton - OHL, Niagara - OHL), Nick Paul (Binghamton - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Francis Perron (Rouyn-Noranda - QMJHL), Jack Rodewald (Orlando - ECHL, Toronto - AHL), Ryan Rupert (Orlando - ECHL, Toronto - AHL, Binghamton - AHL), Blake Tatchell (University of Alaska-Anchorage - WCHA, Lake Erie - AHL).

2016 rookie tournament schedule at London's Budweiser Gardens

Friday, Sept. 16: Pittsburgh vs. Montreal, 3:35 p.m.; Ottawa vs. Toronto, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 17: Pittsburgh vs. Ottawa, 3:35 p.m.; Toronto vs. Montreal, 7 p.m.

Sunday, Sept. 18: Montreal vs. Ottawa, 1 p.m.; Toronto vs. Pittsburgh, 4:35 p.m.

The Senators have participated in 15 rookie tournaments since their first appearance in 1999. The team most recently participated in a rookie tournament last September which was also held in London, Ont. Ottawa tied for the tournament lead with its second consecutive record of 2-1-0; a 5-4 overtime win over Toronto in the tournament's opener on Sept. 11, a 4-1 loss to Pittsburgh on Sept. 12 and a 2-1 win over Montreal in the finale on Sept. 13, 2015.

Since the first tournament in 1999, past rookie team rosters have included the following notable participants who have also played for the Senators: Cody Ceci (2013), Nick Foligno (2007), Andrew Hammond (2013, 2014), Erik Karlsson (2009), Curtis Lazar (2013, 2014), Chris Neil (1999), Jean-Gabriel Pageau (2011, 2013), Jason Spezza (2001, 2002), Zack Smith (2008, 2009), Mark Stone (2010, 2011, 2013) and Mika Zibanejad (2011).

Visit the Senators website:
Engage with the Senators on Twitter: @Senators
Like the Senators on Facebook:
Follow the Senators on Instagram: senators

- end -

View More