Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Ottawa Senators

Senators News

News Release: Senators announce 2015-16 training camp roster

by Staff Writer / Ottawa Senators

OTTAWA – The Ottawa Senators (@Senators) announced today the 61-player roster for the club’s 2015-16 training camp, presented by Sport Chek, which will be held at Canadian Tire Centre (@CdnTireCtr) starting on Thursday, Sept. 17. The Senators training camp roster includes five goaltenders, 21 defencemen and 35 forwards.

Players will report for medicals and physical fitness testing on Thursday morning at Canadian Tire Centre, and then move to on-ice testing sessions at the Bell Sensplex on Friday. The team will be broken into three units, before evolving into NHL and AHL groups ahead of the Binghamton Senators commencing their training camp on Sept. 28. Friday’s first on-ice testing session at the Bell Sensplex will begin at 8:45 a.m.

The list of camp invitees is built primarily around the Senators’ draft. Thirty (30) players were Ottawa selections in NHL drafts, 10 players were signed as free agents, 10 players were obtained in trades, nine players are signed to American Hockey League contracts, one player is signed to an ECHL contract and one player is on an amateur tryout. Twenty-five (25) players appeared in at least one game with the Senators during the 2014-15 season, while another two dressed with other NHL clubs. Each of the 24 members of the recent rookie tournament in London, Ont., have been invited to camp.

2015-16 Senators training camp roster

Five goaltenders, 2014-15 team(s): Craig Anderson (Ottawa – NHL), Chris Driedger (Evansville – ECHL, Binghamton – AHL, Ottawa – NHL), Scott Greenham (Evansville – ECHL, Binghamton – AHL), Andrew Hammond (Binghamton – AHL, Ottawa – NHL), Matt O’Connor (Boston University – H-East).

Twenty-one (21) defencemen, 2014-15 team(s): Mark Borowiecki (Ottawa – NHL), Chris Carlisle (Oshawa – OHL), Cody Ceci (Ottawa – NHL), Thomas Chabot (Saint John – QMJHL), Fredrik Claesson (Binghamton – AHL), Jared Cowen (Ottawa – NHL), Marcus Crawford (Saginaw – OHL), Ben Harpur (Guelph – OHL, Barrie – OHL), Erik Karlsson (Ottawa – NHL), Michael Kostka (Hartford – AHL, N.Y. Rangers – NHL), Guillaume Lepine (Evansville – ECHL, Binghamton – AHL), Marc Methot (Binghamton – AHL, Ottawa – NHL), Patrick Mullen (Binghamton – AHL), Chris Phillips** (Ottawa – NHL), Chris Rumble (Canisius College – AHA, Evansville – ECHL), Troy Rutkowski (Evansville – ECHL, Binghamton – AHL), Michael Sdao** (Binghamton – AHL), Nick Tuzzolino (Elmira – ECHL Utica – AHL, Binghamton – AHL, Rochester – AHL), Chris Wideman (Binghamton – AHL), Patrick Wiercioch (Ottawa – NHL), Mikael Wikstrand (Frölunda – SHL).

Thirty-five (35) forwards, 2014-15 team(s): Alex Chiasson (Ottawa – NHL), Filip Chlapik (Charlottetown – QMJHL), Vincent Dunn (Rimouski – QMJHL), Ryan Dzingel (Binghamton – AHL), David Dziurzynski (Binghamton – AHL), Travis Ewanyk (Oklahoma City – AHL), Gabriel Gagne (Victoriaville – QMJHL), Colin Greening (Binghamton – AHL, Ottawa – NHL), Alex Guptill (Binghamton – AHL), Danny Hobbs (Evansville – ECHL, Binghamton – AHL), Mike Hoffman (Ottawa – NHL), Curtis Lazar (Ottawa – NHL), Daultan Leveillé (Rouen – France), Tobias Lindberg (Oshawa – OHL), Clarke MacArthur (Ottawa – NHL), Max McCormick (Binghamton – AHL), Milan Michalek (Ottawa – NHL), Chris Neil (Ottawa – NHL), Eric O’Dell (St. John’s – AHL, Winnipeg – NHL), Jean-Gabriel Pageau (Binghamton – AHL, Ottawa – NHL), Nick Paul (North Bay – OHL), Ryan Penny (Rouyn-Noranda – QMJHL), Francis Perron (Rouyn-Noranda – QMJHL), Shane Prince (Binghamton – AHL, Ottawa – NHL), Matt Puempel (Binghamton – AHL, Ottawa – NHL), Buddy Robinson** (Binghamton – AHL), Bobby Ryan (Ottawa – NHL), Cole Schneider (Binghamton – AHL), Zack Smith (Binghamton – AHL, Ottawa – NHL), Mark Stone (Ottawa – NHL), Zack Stortini (Lehigh Valley – AHL), Kyle Turris (Ottawa – NHL), Alex Wideman (Miami University/Ohio – NCHC, Binghamton – AHL), Matthew Zay (Mercyhurst College – AHA, Springfield – AHL, Binghamton – AHL), Mika Zibanejad (Ottawa – NHL).

** Will not participate in training camp due to injury.

Visit the Senators website:
Engage with the Senators on Twitter: @Senators
Like the Senators on Facebook:
Follow the Senators on Instagram: senators

- end -

View More