Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Ottawa Senators

Senators News

Four Sens named to all-star teams

by Staff Writer / Ottawa Senators

by Todd Anderson

Four Ottawa Senators players were named to all-star teams during the NHL Awards Show at the Westin Grand Hotel in Vancouver on Thursday. After a strong season at both ends of the ice, centre Mike Fisher finished third in his quest for the Frank J. Selke Trophy.

Rookie defenceman Andrej Meszaros, who finished second in plus-minus ratings (+34) last season, was named to the all-rookie team. The Senators' 2004 first-round pick, 23rd overall, earned a spot in Ottawa as a 20-year-old in 2005-06.

Three of six members on the NHL's second all-star team came from the Senators.

Defenceman Zdeno Chara, right-winger Daniel Alfredsson and left-winger Dany Heatley were all named to the team. Captain Alfredsson and Heatley tied for the team lead in points, with 103, becoming the first players in Senators history to surpass the century mark during a season. Heatley also became the first Senator to score 50 goals. Despite missing 11 games this season, Chara tied his career high in goals with 16 and set a new personal best with 43 points. Chara also served as an alternate captain with the Senators.

Fisher finished third in the Frank J. Selke Trophy voting behind winner Rod Brind'Amour, the captain of the Stanley Cup-champion Carolina Hurricanes, and Dallas Stars veteran Jere Lehtinen. Alfredsson just missed being a final nominee for the award as he finished fourth in the voting.

For more on the 2006 NHL Awards Show click here.

The Ottawa Senators will participate in the 2006 NHL Entry Draft on Saturday. Click here to visit's Draft Central.

View More