Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Buffalo Sabres


by Staff Writer / Buffalo Sabres

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The third annual USA Hockey Sled Classic, presented by the National Hockey League and hosted by the Buffalo Sabres, will take place this weekend (Nov. 9-11) at the Northtown Center at Amherst in Williamsville, N.Y.

The event is part of November's Come Play Hockey Month, a joint effort of USA Hockey and the NHL.

Each of the 14 competing teams are affiliated with NHL clubs – Boston Bruins, Buffalo Sabres, Carolina Hurricanes, Chicago Blackhawks, Colorado Avalanche, Dallas Stars, New York Rangers, Philadelphia Flyers, Pittsburgh Penguins, St. Louis Blues, Tampa Bay Lightning and Washington Capitals.

"The USA Hockey Sled Classic has quickly grown to become the premier sled hockey tournament in the U.S. thanks to the support of the NHL and its member clubs," said J.J. O'Connor, chair of USA Hockey's disabled hockey section. "We are very pleased to be increasing participation this year with the addition of five teams and a second division."

Sled hockey teams will represent their affiliated NHL club by wearing official NHL licensed jerseys with local club marks and logos.

NOTES: The Colorado Avalanche hosted the inaugural USA Hockey Sled Classic in 2010. The Colorado Avalanche Sled Hockey Team won the four-team tournament … In 2011, the Philadelphia Flyers held the event in Vorhees, N.J., where the Buffalo Sabres Sled Hockey Team took first place among nine teams … Participating teams in the tournament must have an official affiliation with an NHL member club … November is the second annual Come Play Hockey Month.

View More