Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Buffalo Sabres


by Chris Ryndak / Buffalo Sabres

The Buffalo Sabres announced Friday that 12 players have been assigned to the Rochester Americans of the American Hockey League.

Forwards Colin Jacobs, Eric Locke, Jonathon McGuire, Jonathan Parker, Kevin Sundher, Shawn Szydlowski, and Frederick Roy, defensemen Alex Lepkowski and Matt Mackenzie and goaltenders Connor Knapp, Nathan Lieuwen and Andrey Makarov are now with the Amerks. Defenseman Nick Crawford, pending waivers, will also be assigned to Rochester.

Additionally, defenseman Brady Austin and forward Peter Trainor have been returned to their junior clubs. Austin plays for the Belleville Bulls of the Ontario Hockey League while Trainor is with Rimouski Oceanic of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League.

The moves leave the Sabres with 41 players in training camp (25 forwards, 13 defensemen, three goaltenders).

"[We're down to] two teams and I think this weekend will be a big evaluation for a lot of guys with the back-to-back with Toronto. Hopefully [we'll] be able to trim it down from there," Rolston said after practice at First Niagara Center on Friday.

The Sabres play the Maple Leafs twice this weekend as the preseason continues. They host Toronto on Saturday at 7 p.m. and then go to Air Canada Centre on Sunday for a 7 p.m. face off.

Rolston said either Jhonas Enroth or Matt Hackett will start on Saturday.

Group One - 10:30 a.m.

Forwards: Daniel Catenacci, Matt Ellis, Marcus Foligno, Zemgus Girgensons, Patrick Kaleta, Cody McCormick, Steve Ott, Tim Schaller, John Scott, Drew Stafford, Jamie Tardif, Philip Varone, Mike Zigomanis.

Defense: Drew Bagnall, Christian Ehrhoff, Jerome Gauthier-Leduc, Jamie McBain, Chad Ruhwedel, Alexander Sulzer, Mike Weber.

Goaltenders: Jhonas Enroth, Matt Hackett.

Group Two - 12:15 p.m.

Forwards: Luke Adam, Joel Armia, Tyler Ennis, Brian Flynn, Colton Gillies, Mikhail Grigorenko, Cody Hodgson, Johan Larsson, Ville Leino, Kevin Porter, Corey Tropp, Thomas Vanek.

Defense: Brayden McNabb, Tyler Myers, Mark Pysyk, Rasmus Ristolainen, Henrik Tallinder, Nikita Zadorov.

Goaltenders: Ryan Miller, Matt Hackett.

View More