Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Buffalo Sabres

Ruff Wins Jack Adams Award

by Staff Writer / Buffalo Sabres
Buffalo Sabres head coach Lindy Ruff was awarded the Jack Adams Award as the league's coach of the year for the first time in his career on Thursday night in Vancouver, BC. The award is given to the coach who is "adjudged to have contributed the most to his team's success" by a vote of the NHL Broadcasters' Association.

The longest tenured coach in the league, Ruff received the award after guiding Buffalo to a 52-24-6 record for 110 points, a 25-point improvement from 2003-04. Buffalo's 52 overall wins and 25 victories away from HSBC Arena both set franchise records.

Ruff was nominated for the award in May along with Peter Laviolette from the Carolina Hurricanes and Tom Renney of the New York Rangers, and became just the second Sabres head coach to win the award. Ted Nolan, who presented Ruff the award at the ceremonies, took home the Jack Adams trophy in 1997.
View More