Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Buffalo Sabres


by Chris Ryndak / Buffalo Sabres

NEWARK, N.J. – After an emotional overtime victory against the Toronto Maple Leafs, the Buffalo Sabres will stick with the same lineup against the New Jersey Devils on Saturday with one exception. Jhonas Enroth will start in goal.

“It’s one of those things where you have to have a reward system,” Sabres interim coach Ted Nolan said at Prudential Center. “We were planning on So-And-So taking So-And-So’s spot, but So-And-So played pretty well, so we can’t do that.”

Nolan said he would like to harness some of the energy his club had against Toronto for the game in New Jersey.

“We had a certain spirit last night to the game,” he said. “I think whatever you do for a living, if you have that spirit and you play with a certain amount of energy, good things happen.”

However, they’ll have to be careful against a Devils team that has a reputation for capitalizing on other team’s mistakes.

“The one thing I’ve always preached when I was going against this team before, it you have to have patience,” Nolan said. “They’re a very patient club. They’ve been like this for years and years and once you try to do something out of the ordinary, that’s when they make you pay for it. So patience is a virtue tonight.”

Nolan also said that the Sabres had planned to call right wing Patrick Kaleta up from the Rochester Americans this week, but a long-term injury Kaleta sustained on Friday will prevent them from doing so.

Nolan said that the injury could end Kaleta’s season, but they’ll know more on Sunday.

“We were going to bring him up. We were going to bring him up after the weekend. We already spoke to him. It was in the works,” Nolan said. “We had to get him back here. He wasn’t playing. He needed him to get some more games and unfortunately that happened. But we were definitely going to bring him back.”

26 Matt Moulson – 19 Cody Hodgson – 21 Drew Stafford .
9 Steve Ott – 23 Ville Leino – 27 Matt D’Agostini
72 Luke Adam – 63 Tyler Ennis – 28 Zemgus Girgensons
32 John Scott – 65 Brian Flynn – 82 Marcus Foligno

10 Christian Ehrhoff – 52 Alexander Sulzer
20 Henrik Tallinder – 57 Tyler Myers
6 Mike Weber – 3 Mark Pysyk

1 Jhonas Enroth
30 Ryan Miller

View More