Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Buffalo Sabres


by Staff Writer / Buffalo Sabres
The Buffalo Sabres today announced that Deron Bauer is the 2010 recipient of the J. Michael Duffett Memorial Award, presented each year to the coach whose contributions to amateur hockey in Western New York “best exemplifies the knowledge, teaching, love of the game and gentle humanity of Mike.” The award will be presented during the 1st period of this Saturday’s game against the San Jose Sharks.

A native of Cheektowaga, NY, Bauer becomes the 25th recipient of the Duffett Award. Following a playing career with the Buffalo Jr. Sabres and Clarkson University, Bauer returned home to begin a coaching career that has now spanned 26 years. While behind the bench of the Buffalo Regals and Buffalo Saints, Bauer led his teams to five NY State Championships and one US National Championship in 1991. Many of the players that Bauer has coached have gone on to successful collegiate and professional careers, including current NHLers Tim Kennedy and Patrick Kane. Bauer was also a coach at Nichols School for three years, and has served as an evaluator for the Empire State Games. In addition to his current coaching duties with the Buffalo Regals, Bauer is actively involved with USA Hockey, and as a local scout for the OHL’s Owen Sound Attack.

In 1984, the Buffalo Sabres established the J. Michael Duffett Award in his memory. Mike was a student of the game and a coach with the Buffalo Bisons and the Amherst Hockey Association. A standout player at Nichols School and Clarkson College, he was working in the Sabres hockey department under Scotty Bowman and Roger Neilson at the time of his death after a long battle with cancer.
View More