Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Buffalo Sabres


by Michael Jafari / Buffalo Sabres
The Buffalo Seniors put on a show at HSBC Arena as they defeated Rochester 8-4 to claim their sixth title in the seventh annual Bowman Cup.

Buffalo jumped out to an early four-goal lead with goals by Dave Seward, Robert Neff, Josh Kielich and Adrean Copeland.  The squad would get four more goals from Brandon Cox, Ryan Schmelzer, Matt Notaro and another from Copeland. 

Seward (1-3-4) finished the night as Buffalo’s leading scorer with a goal and three assists, while Kielich (1-2-3) was right behind him with three points.  Buffalo netminder Parker Gahagen also impressed between the pipes as the Williamsville North goaltender shutout Rochester in the first period.

Rochester may have got off to a slow start, but they started to come back in the second period with three unanswered goals.  L.J. Lent, Nick Gorino and Corey Gurski all lit the lamp to get within two of Buffalo, but Brian Hurlimann was the only senior to find the back of the net in the third period.

It was quite a night for Western New York high school hockey, and it started prior to the senior showdown.  The Buffalo Juniors were able to squeak out a win over Rochester with a 5-4 shootout win in the earlier game. 

Rochester jumped out to an early 3-1 lead with tallies from Nino DiPasquale, Bryan Deeley and Peter Vesaturo.  Buffalo’s Shane Bennett scored his team’s first goal, but the Junior Sabre wasn’t done yet.

Despite the two-goal deficit, Bennett carried the team on his back with two more goals to tie it up before the second intermission.  Rochester’s Connor Boyd tallied a goal early in the third period, but Buffalo answered back with the tying goal coming from Jeff McAndrews.  The third period ended with the score tied 4-4.

After a scoreless overtime, both teams headed to the shootout to determine the game’s winner.  Buffalo was able to come away with the victory after both Bennett and Andrew Poturalski capitalized on their opportunities.  Rochester’s Pat Eagan was able to make his shot, but DiPasquale was robbed by Regals goaltender Jake Moore.

The event is named after former Buffalo Sabres coach Scotty Bowman, the winningest coach in NHL history. Bowman took part in the game by holding a ceremonial puck drop and also presented the Bowman Cup to the Buffalo Seniors.
View More