Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Buffalo Sabres


by Staff Writer / Buffalo Sabres
In order to view this page you need JavaScript and Flash Player 9+ support!
Martin Brodeur of the New Jersey Devils, Ilya Bryzgalov of the Phoenix Coyotes and Ryan Miller of the Buffalo Sabres are the three finalists for the 2009-10 Vezina Trophy, which is awarded “to the goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at his position,” the National Hockey League announced today.

The general managers of the 30 NHL clubs submitted ballots for the Vezina Trophy at the conclusion of the regular season, with the top three vote-getters designated as finalists. The winner will be announced Wednesday, June 23, during the 2010 NHL Awards that will be broadcast live from the Pearl Concert Theater inside the Palms Hotel Las Vegas on VERSUS in the United States and on CBC in Canada.

Following are the finalists for the Vezina Trophy, in alphabetical order:

Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils

Brodeur led all NHL goaltenders in games (77), victories (45) and shutouts (nine), and captured his fifth career Jennings Trophy (fewest team goals-against). The 37-year-old Montreal native continued his assault on the NHL record book, topping Patrick Roy's record for career games by a goaltender, eclipsing Terry Sawchuk as the NHL's all-time shutout leader, matching Roy with his 13th 30-win season and extending his own record for 40-win seasons (eight). Voted a Vezina Trophy finalist for the ninth time, Brodeur is in quest of his fifth career win; he captured the award in 2003, 2004, 2007 and 2008.

Ilya Bryzgalov, Phoenix Coyotes

Bryzgalov posted career-best totals in victories (42), games (69), shutouts (eight), goals-against average (2.29) and save percentage (.920) as the Coyotes set franchise records for wins and points in a season and earned a berth in the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the first time since 2002. He ranked second in the League in shutouts, tying the single-season franchise record, and third in wins, shattering the old franchise mark of 33. Bryzgalov started 29 of 36 games down the stretch, posting a 19-8-2 record in that span. He is a first-time Vezina Trophy finalist.

Ryan Miller, Buffalo Sabres

Miller earned his first nomination as a Vezina Trophy finalist by leading the Sabres to the Northeast Division title for the second time in the past four seasons. He set a franchise record and ranked fourth among NHL goaltenders with 41 wins; placed second in the League in goals-against average (2.22) and save percentage (.929); and tied a career high with five shutouts. Miller continued to excel following his MVP performance for Team USA at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games, going 9-2-1 in his first 12 decisions after collecting the silver medal in Vancouver.


Leo Dandurand, Louis Letourneau and Joe Cattarinich, former owners of the Montreal Canadiens, presented the trophy to the National Hockey League in 1926-27 in memory of Georges Vezina, the outstanding Canadiens goaltender who collapsed during an NHL game on Nov. 28, 1925, and died of tuberculosis a few months later. Until the 1981-82 season, the goaltender(s) of the team allowing the fewest number of goals during the regular season were awarded the Vezina Trophy.

Announcement Schedule

The NHL will announce the three finalists for each of its awards daily. The remaining announcement schedule:
  • Tuesday, April 20 -  Frank J. Selke Trophy (top defensive forward)
  • Wednesday, April 21 - Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (skill/sportsmanship)
  • Thursday, April 22 - Calder Memorial Trophy (top rookie)
  • Friday, April 23 - James Norris Memorial Trophy (top defenseman)
  • Monday, April 26 - Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (perseverance/dedication to hockey)
  • Tuesday, April 27 - NHL Foundation Player Award (contributions to charitable causes)
  • Wednesday, April 28 - Jack Adams Award (top head coach)
  • Thursday, April 29 - Hart Memorial Trophy (MVP)

View More