Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Buffalo Sabres

All-Star Starters Announced

by Staff Writer / Buffalo Sabres
Sidney Crosby, the Pittsburgh Penguins' star and NHL scoring leader who received a League-leading 825,783 votes in the COLD-fX/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, presented by 2K Sports, heads the list of players voted to the starting lineups for the 2007 NHL All-Star Game.

Crosby is joined by five other first-time starters in the Eastern Conference lineup for the 2007 NHL All-Star Game, which will be played Wednesday, Jan. 24 at American Airlines Center in Dallas (8 p.m. ET, VERSUS, CBC, RDS, NHL Radio).

Also voted to start are NHL goals co-leader Alex Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals (475,297); goaltender Ryan Miller (539,635), defenseman Brian Campbell (602,982) and forward Daniel Briere (475,857) of the Buffalo Sabres and defenseman Sheldon Souray of the Montreal Canadiens (534,647).

San Jose Sharks center Joe Thornton led all Western Conference vote-getters and ranked second in the NHL with 663,931 and will be making his second consecutive All-Star Game start. Thornton's linemates will be Colorado Avalanche center Joe Sakic (473,847), voted a starter for the fourth time, and the Sharks' Jonathan Cheechoo (444,885), a first-time starter. The starting defensemen are Scott Niedermayer of the Anaheim Ducks (591,657), who will be making his second consecutive All-Star Game start, and Nicklas Lidstrom of the Detroit Red Wings (573,069), voted a starter for the seventh consecutive time. In goal will be first-time All-Starstarter Roberto Luongo of the Vancouver Canucks (484,861).

Complete rosters for the 2007 NHL All-Star Game and the NHL YoungStars Game presented by Upper Deck, selected by the NHL's Hockey Operations Department in conjunction with League general managers, will be announced Saturday, Jan. 13, exclusively on CBC during its coverage of Hockey Day In Canada and on RDS.
View More