Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Detroit Red Wings

Zetterberg named TSN player of the year

by Staff Writer / Detroit Red Wings
Conn Smythe Trophy winner Henrik Zetterberg has added another honor to his 2007-08 collection, as the Red Wings forward today was named the first TSN NHL Player of the Year. The honor goes to the most outstanding player of the full season (regular-season and playoffs) and was voted on by a 30-member panel consisting of current NHL players, coaches and GMs, the NHLPA executive director and the NHL on TSN broadcast team.

TSN will donate $5,000 (Canadian) to Zetterberg’s charity of choice in recognition of this honor.

The inaugural TSN NHL Player of the Year featured a showdown between playoff co-scoring leader and MVP, Zetterberg, and regular-season scoring leader and MVP, Alexander Ovechkin. Zetterberg prevailed with 97 points, including 13 first-place votes, while Ovechkin was runner-up with 81 points and 12 first-place nods. Red Wings captain Nicklas Lidstrom finished third with 38 points, including three first-place votes. (See detailed voting results below.)

While leading the Red Wings to their 11th Stanley Cup championship, Zetterberg tied for the playoff lead in goals scored (13) – among them the Stanley Cup-winning goal – and total points (27) to win the Conn Smythe Trophy.

Ovechkin led the regular-season in goals (65) and total points (112) to become just the second player to win both the Rocket Richard Trophy and the Art Ross Trophy in the same season, leading the Washington Capitals back to the playoffs for the first time since 2002-03. At the NHL Awards Show, Ovechkin captured both the Hart Trophy and Pearson Award.

Six-time Norris Trophy winner Nicklas Lidstrom became the first European-born and trained captain to win the Stanley Cup. Lidstrom led all defensemen in regular-season assists (60), points (70) and plus/minus rating (+40).

While the NHL’s Hart Trophy and Conn Smythe Trophy honor the league’s most valuable player for the regular-season and playoffs, respectively, the TSN NHL Player of the Year recognizes the most outstanding player based on combined performance in the regular-season and playoffs.

Voters include NHL general managers Brian Burke, Cliff Fletcher, Kevin Lowe and Bryan Murray; NHLPA executive director Paul Kelly; NHL coaches Guy Carbonneau, Wayne Gretzky, Tom Renney and Alain Vigneault; and NHL players Martin Biron, Ryan Miller, Martin St. Louis, Joe Sakic, Joe Thornton and Marty Turco. Voters ranked their top three choices; first-place votes were worth five points, second-place votes, three points, and third-place votes, one point. 

Voting Results (5-3-1 point system)
1. Henrik Zetterberg (97 points)
1st: 13
2nd: 9
3rd: 5

2. Alexander Ovechkin (81 points)
1st: 12
2nd: 6
3rd: 3

3. Nicklas Lidstrom (38 points)
1st: 3
2nd: 5
3rd: 8
View More