Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Detroit Red Wings

Zetterberg, Lidstrom out to early lead

by Staff Writer / Detroit Red Wings
NEW YORK Nicklas Lidstrom and Henrik Zetterberg of the Red Wings lead all Western Conference vote-getters in the XM / NHL All-Star fan balloting.

Lidstrom’s 80,903 votes top the West, followed by Zetterberg with 58,074. Closing in for the third top spot is Calgary Flames defenseman Dion Phaneuf with 56,664 votes. The all-digital voting program, launched just six days ago, already has resulted in more than 2.15 million votes being cast.
The voting will determine the starting lineups for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game, which will be played on Sunday, January 27 in Atlanta.

Fans can vote for six Eastern Conference All-Stars and six Western Conference All-Stars: three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender for each team. If a player is not listed on the ballot, a space is provided for write-in votes. The three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender from each Conference receiving the most votes will comprise the starting lineups. Each of the 30 teams gas at least two representatives on the ballot.
Zetterberg, Flames right wing Jarome Iginla (42,552) and Wings center Pavel Datsyuk (39,041) lead all forwards in votes. Lidstrom and Phaneuf are the front-runners among defensemen. Pascal Leclaire of the Columbus Blue Jackets tops all Western Conference goaltenders with 37,574 votes.
Through Jan. 2, fans around the world can go online at to “Vote Now, Vote Often” for the Eastern and Western Conference All-Star starters for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game.

XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting
Western Conference
(as of 11/19/07)
Player                                           NHL Club                            Votes
Henrik Zetterberg                          Detroit                                58,074
Jarome Iginla                                Calgary                              42,552
Pavel Datsyuk                               Detroit                                39,041
Joe Sakic                                      Colorado                             33,307
Mike Cammalleri                           Los Angeles                     32,650
Joe Thornton                                 San Jose                           28,117
Paul Stastny                                 Colorado                             25,408
Jonathan Cheechoo                     San Jose                          23,802
Ryan Getzlaf                                 Anaheim                             20,546
Marian Gaborik                              Minnesota                        20,539
Rick Nash                                     Columbus                         20,508
Jason Arnott                                  Nashville                           19,015
Mike Modano                                 Dallas                                17,753
Paul Kariya                                   Saint Louis                        13,994
Anze Kopitar                                 Los Angeles                      13,203
Ales Hemsky                                 Edmonton                         11,122
Shane Doan                                  Phoenix                             10,787
Ryan Smyth                                  Colorado                            10,634
Martin Havlat                                 Chicago                             8,948
Milan Hejduk                                  Colorado                           8,832
Andy McDonald                             Anaheim                            6,965
Brian Rolston                                Minnesota                          6,774
Patrick Marleau                             San Jose                           6,289
Daymond Langkow                       Calgary                              6,175
Keith Tkachuk                               Saint Louis                         5,801
Markus Naslund                            Vancouver                         5,796
Henrik Sedin                                 Vancouver                          5,075
*Patrick Kane                                Chicago                              4,019
Daniel Sedin                                 Vancouver                          3,699
Brenden Morrow                           Dallas                                 3,568
David Legwand                             Nashville                           2,279
Nicklas Lidstrom                          Detroit                     80,903
Dion Phaneuf                               Calgary                   56,664
Chris Pronger                              Anaheim                 41,046
Rob Blake                                    Los Angeles           30,393
Francois Beauchemin                 Anaheim                22,954
Brian Rafalski                              Detroit                      22,054
Sheldon Souray                           Edmonton               18,018
Scott Hannan                               Colorado                 17,741
Sergei Zubov                                Dallas                      16,082
Ed Jovanovski                              Phoenix                    14,249
Lubomir Visnovsky                      Los Angeles           12,479
Mattias Ohlund                             Vancouver              11,840
Robyn Regehr                             Calgary                       7,382
Pascal Leclaire                            Columbus              37,574
Roberto Luongo                           Vancouver              34,050
Dominik Hasek                            Detroit                     21,062
Niklas Backstrom                        Minnesota              19,756
Jean-Sebastien Giguere              Anaheim              18,325
Miikka Kiprusoff                            Calgary                   17,026
Evgeni Nabokov                           San Jose                11,246
Nikolai Khabibulin                         Chicago                  8,592
Marty Turco                                  Dallas                         8,400
*write-in candidate
View More