Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Detroit Red Wings

Wings release prospect tourney roster

by Kyle Kujawa / Detroit Red Wings

DETROIT – The Detroit Red Wings today released their 2015 NHL Prospect Tournament roster, a group of 25 recent draft picks, free agent signees and tryouts who will compete against seven other NHL prospect teams for the Matthew Wuest Memorial Cup from Friday, Sept. 11 to Tuesday, Sept. 15 at Centre Ice Arena in Traverse City, Mich.

Highlighting Detroit’s roster are the team’s three most-recent first round draft picks in Anthony Mantha, who was the 2014 CHL Player of the Year before joining Grand Rapids last season, Dylan Larkin, the 2015 Big Ten Rookie of the Year, and Evgeny Svechnikov, the Red Wings’ top pick in the 2015 NHL Entry Draft who had 32 goals and 78 points as a QMJHL rookie with Cape Breton. Other standouts include Andreas Athanasiou, who led Griffins’ rookies in goals last season; Tyler Bertuzzi, a 2013 second-round pick who produced 98 points in the OHL in his final season of major junior; Joe Hicketts, who attended the camp as a free agent last year, earned an NHL contract and went on to win a gold medal with Canada at the 2015 IIHF World Junior Championship as the only defenseman on the roster who was not a first- or second-round draft pick; and Robbie Russo, a former New York Islanders’ draft pick signed by the Red Wings in August who was the NCAA’s second-highest scoring blueliner in 2014-15.

Twenty-two players who skated for the Red Wings during the 2014-15 campaign have participated in the tournament during its 17-year history, while 479 total players have played in the tournament and moved on to skate in at least one NHL game. Prospects from the Carolina Hurricanes, Chicago Blackhawks, Columbus Blue Jackets, Dallas Stars, Minnesota Wild, New York Rangers and St. Louis Blues will also be competing in this year’s tournament.

Tickets are available for $10 per day and can be purchased at Centre Ice Arena or at Each ticket is good for all four games per day. Teams are divided into two divisions and will play each team within their division once during the round robin before a crossover on the final day of the tournament, with the first-place finishers in each division meeting for the championship on Tuesday, Sept. 15. For more information and a complete tournament schedule, visit

2015 Detroit Red Wings Prospect Tournament Roster

# Name Pos. 2014-15 Team Notes
28 Vili Saarijarvi D Green Bay (USHL) 2015 3rd round (73rd overall)
36 Jake Paterson G Kitchener (OHL) 2012 3rd round (80th overall)
37 Evgeny Svechnikov LW Cape Breton (QMJHL) 2015 1st round (19th overall)
39 Anthony Mantha RW Grand Rapids (AHL) 2013 1st round (20th overall)
50 Matt Mancina G Peterborough (OHL) Free agent invitee
51 Robbie Russo D Notre Dame (HE) Signed by Detroit, 8/16/15
53 Joe Hicketts D Victoria (WHL) Signed by Detroit, 9/24/14
54 Nick Betz RW Erie (OHL) Free agent invitee
58 Justin Lemcke D Belleville (OHL) Free agent invitee
59 Tyler Bertuzzi LW Guelph (OHL) 2013 2nd round (58th overall)
62 Zach Nastasiuk C Owen Sound (OHL) 2013 2nd round (48th overall)
63 Adam Marsh LW Saint John (QMJHL) 2015 7th round (200th overall)
64 Ty Stanton D Medicine Hat (WHL) Free agent invitee
68 Connor Ingram G Kamloops (WHL) Free agent invitee
70 Jerome Verrier RW Quebec (QMJHL) Free agent invitee
71 Dylan Larkin C Michigan (B10) 2014 1st round (15th overall)
72 Andreas Athanasiou C Grand Rapids (AHL) 2012 4th round (110th overall)
75 Andrew Prochno D St. Cloud State (NCHC) Free agent invitee
78 Dominic Turgeon C Portland (WHL) 2014 3rd round (63rd overall)
80 Conor McGlynn C Kingston (OHL) Free agent invitee
82 Evan Polei LW Red Deer (WHL) Free agent invitee
83 Tomas Nosek C Grand Rapids (AHL) Signed by Detroit, 6/14/14
85 Kurt Etchegary C Quebec (QMJHL) Free agent invitee
95 Jarett Meyer D Owen Sound (OHL) Free agent invitee
97 Jalen Chatfield D Windsor (OHL) Free agent invitee
View More