Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Detroit Red Wings

Wings' Operation: Bobblehead campaign is back for 2012-13

by John Hahn / Detroit Red Wings
 Click above image to go to voting page.

DETROIT – For the second consecutive year the Detroit Red Wings will be asking fans to help determine which players will be featured in their season-long bobblehead giveaway promotion in 2012-13. Following the success of last summer’s Operation: Bobblehead voting campaign, which saw nearly two millions ballots cast in selecting the current members of the roster to be immortalized in the form of a collectible bobblehead, this year the team will be asking citizens of Hockeytown to vote on which former Red Wings greats they’d most like to see the likeness of emblazoned upon a 6 ½ inch polyresin figurine.

A total of six players will be featured in the 2012-13 Operation Bobblehead - Alumni Edition. The exact games at which 7,500 bobbleheads will be distributed this season will be announced at a later date.

“Last year’s Operation: Bobblehead campaign was a huge success and we’re looking forward to seeing which former players our fans select to be included as part of this season’s promotion,” says Olympia Entertainment President & CEO Tom Wilson. “In conjunction with December’s SiriusXM Hockeytown Winter Festival Alumni Showdown™ at Comerica Park, we’re very much looking forward to celebrating our past and honoring some of the men who have helped make Detroit the very best hockey market in the country in 2012-13.”

The first bobblehead to be distributed as part of this special Edition will depict former captain and three-time Stanley Cup champion Steve Yzerman. As part of Operation: Bobblehead - Alumni Edition, the remaining five former Wings to be featured in the promotion will be determined by an impending multi-week online voting campaign, which will be conducted through a formspring page accessible via

Hockeytown Heroes appearing on the ballot for Operation: Bobblehead - Alumni Edition include Sid Abel, Alex Delvecchio, Terry Sawchuck, Ted Lindsay, Darren McCarty, Kris Draper, Joe Kocur, Kirk Maltby, John Ogrodnick, Luc Robitaille, Dino Ciccarelli, Chris Chelios, Larry Murphy, Mark Howe, Igor Larionov, Brendan Shanahan, Brett Hull, Chris Osgood, Scotty Bowman and more. Write-in candidates are also encouraged. Voting will begin on Tuesday, July 31, at one minute past noon and will be conducted on a week-by-week basis, closing at noon every Sunday. The following day (Tuesday) at 12:01 p.m., voting will begin anew with the winning player being removed form the ballot. No votes cast the previous week will count towards each player’s total. There is no limit on how many votes fans are able to cast each week. Twitter users, meanwhile, are invited to champion their favorite player’s bobblehead by using the hashtag #HockeytownHero throughout the duration of this campaign.

View More