Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Detroit Red Wings

Wings capture eighth straight Central title

by Todd Beam / Detroit Red Wings
DETROIT -- The Red Wings have clinched the 2008-09 Central Division title.

Detroit has now captured eight consecutive Central Division crowns dating back to the 2000-01 season. The Red Wings have also claimed 12 of the last 15. Two times during that span in which they failed to win the division, the Red Wings went on to win the Stanley Cup (1996-97 and 1997-98).

Detroit (49-18-9, 107 points) has six games remaining in the 2008-09 regular-season. The Chicago Blackhawks (40-23-11, 91 points), currently in second place in the Central, have eight games remaining. Detroit holds the edge over Chicago in a tie-break situation (wins). All five teams in the Central Division currently hold one of the eight playoff spots in the Western Conference.

The Red Wings have now won 15 division titles since Mike and Marian Ilitch purchased the franchise in 1982.

Regular-Season Division Titles Since 1982-83

Year            Division
1987-88        Norris
1988-89        Norris
1991-92        Norris
1993-94        Central
1995              Central
1995-96        Central
1998-99        Central
2000-01        Central
2001-02        Central
2002-03        Central
2003-04        Central
2005-06        Central
2006-07        Central
2007-08        Central
2008-09        Central
View More