Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Detroit Red Wings

Detroit reduces roster to 33

Roster trimmed by 12 with preseason schedule completed

by Kyle Kujawa /

DETROIT - The Detroit Red Wings today assigned forwards Axel Holmstrom, Dylan Sadowy and Dominic Turgeon; defensemen Joe Hicketts, Dan Renouf and Vili Saarijarvi; and goaltender Tom McCollum to the American Hockey League's Grand Rapids Griffins. The team also released forwards Colin Campbell, Matthew Ford, PA Parenteau and Dominik Shine from their tryout contracts and assigned forward Michael Rasmussen to the Western Hockey League's Tri-City Americans.

After finishing preseason play with a 3-2 shootout win over the Toronto Maple Leafs on Saturday night, the Red Wings will begin the 2017-18 campaign on Thursday, Oct. 5 at 7:30 p.m. against the Minnesota Wild in the first-ever regular-season game at the state-of-the-art Little Caesars Arena. The Red Wings' roster currently includes 18 forwards, 11 defensemen and four goaltenders.

View More