Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Detroit Red Wings

Mrazek is DSBA's rookie of the year

by Kyle Kujawa / Detroit Red Wings

Goalie  - DET
Record: 16-9-2

GAA: 2.38 | Sv%: .918
DETROIT – Red Wings goaltender Petr Mrazek has been named the 2014-15 Red Wings Rookie of the Year by the Detroit Sports Broadcasters Association.

A 23-year-old netminder from Ostrava, Czech Republic, Mrazek suited up for 29 games with the Red Wings in 2014-15, leading the team with a 2.38 goals-against average, 0.918 save percentage and three shutouts, alongside his 16-9-2 record. Among NHL rookie goalies who started more than 15 games, Mrazek placed third in wins, second in goals-against average, first in save percentage and second in shutouts. He also started all seven postseason games for Detroit against the Tampa Bay Lightning, posting a 2.11 goals-against average, 0.925 save percentage and two shutouts. According to the Elias Sports Bureau, Mrazek became just the fifth goalie in NHL history to post two shutouts in the same playoff series in which he made his NHL playoff debut.

Mrazek has appeared in a total of 40 games for the Red Wings since 2012-13, accumulating a 19-14-2 record, 2.23 goals-against average, 0.920 save percentage and five shutouts. The third-year pro has also played 87 games for the AHL’s Grand Rapids Griffins over the same span, owning a 54-27-4 record, 2.21 goals-against average, 0.913 save percentage and seven shutouts. He helped the Griffins capture the Calder Cup as a rookie in 2013, posting a 15-9 record, 2.31 goals-against average, 0.916 save percentage and four shutouts en route to the first-ever championship for Grand Rapids. The 6-foot-2, 183-lb., goaltender was a 2014 AHL Second-Team All-Star and represented the Griffins at the 2013 AHL All-Star Classic.

Originally drafted by Detroit in the fifth round (141st overall) of the 2010 NHL draft, Mrazek logged 132 games for the OHL’s Ottawa 67’s from 2009-12 prior to turning professional, going 75-37-10 with a 3.00 goals-against average, 0.916 save percentage and 10 shutouts. He represented the Czech Republic at the 2012 World Junior Championship in Calgary and Edmonton, Alberta, earning honors as the tournament’s best goaltender after posting a 2.49 goals-against average and a 0.927 save percentage in six games.

Mrazek will be honored by the DSBA prior to a Red Wings home game during the 2015-16 season. The DSBA Red Wings Rookie of the Year Award dates back to the 1948-49 NHL season. Previous recipients of the award include current Red Wings Pavel Datsyuk, Danny DeKeyser, Jonathan Ericsson, Johan Franzen, Jimmy Howard, Jakub Kindl, Niklas Kronwall, Gustav Nyquist and Henrik Zetterberg.

Previous DSBA Red Wings Rookie of the Year Award Winners

2013-14 Danny DeKeyser   1979-80 Mike Foligno   1963-64 Pit Martin
2012-13 Gustav Nyquist   1978-79 Willie Huber   1962-63 Doug Barkley
2011-12 Cory Emmerton   1977-78 Dale McCourt   1961-62 Bruce MacGregor
2010-11 Jakub Kindl   1976-77 Jim Nahrgang   1960-61 Hank Bassen
2009-10 Jimmy Howard   1975-76 Michel Bergeron   1959-60 Murray Oliver
2008-09 Jonathan Ericsson   1974-75 Bill Lochead   1958-59 Len Lunde
2007-08 Derek Meech   1973-74 Bill Hogaboam   1957-58 Don Poile
2006-07 Jiri Hudler   1972-73 Henry Boucha   1956-57 Billy Dea
2005-06 Johan Franzen   1971-72 Marcel Dionne   1955-56 Glenn Hall
2004-05 None awarded   1970-71 Tom Webster   1954-55 None awarded
2003-04 Niklas Kronwall   1969-70 Al Karlander   1953-54 Bill Dineen
2002-03 Henrik Zetterberg   1968-69 Paul Popiel   1952-53 Marcel Bonin
2001-02 Pavel Datsyuk   1967-68 Gary Jarrett/Roy Edwards   1951-52 Glen Skov
2000-01 None awarded   1966-67 None awarded   1950-51 Terry Sawchuk
1999-00 Jiri Fischer   1965-66 Bert Marshall   1949-50 Steve Black
1982-98 None awarded   1964-65 Roger Crozier   1948-49 Max McNab
1980-81 John Barrett            
View More