Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Detroit Red Wings

Maltby rolls to bobblehead victory

by Bill Roose / Detroit Red Wings

Kirk Maltby

DETROIT – Like a speeding train, Kirk Maltby zipped to the lead last Thursday and never trailed in his quest to become the fourth former player to solidify his own collectible figurine in the Red Wings’ Operation Bobblehead: Alumni Edition.

Not known as a scorer during 16 NHL seasons, Maltby sure poured it on in Round 3 balloting, collecting 1,273 votes or 39.2 percent of the total voted casted last week on The Wings will distribute 7,500 collectible figurines characterizing Maltby to their fans at a select home game during the upcoming 2012-13 season.

For the second straight week, the top five bobblehead choices were rounded out – though in a different order – by Mickey Redmond (14.6%), Sergei Fedorov (11.9%), Chris Osgood (7.3%) and Darren McCarty (6%).

Maltby’s name will be removed from the ballot and voting for Round 4 of Operation Bobblehead: Alumni Edition will resume on Tuesday, August 21 at 12:01 p.m. EDT.

Former Wings appearing on the ballot include, Sid Abel, Alex Delvecchio, Terry Sawchuck, Ted Lindsay, Joe Kocur, John Ogrodnick, Luc Robitaille, Dino Ciccarelli, Brendan Shanahan, Igor Larionov and many more. Write-in candidates are also encouraged and there is no limit to the number of times fans can vote for their favorite former Wings’ player. None of the ballots cast during previous rounds of the campaign will count towards the next round of voting.

Operation Bobblehead: Alumni Edition is a multi-week online voting campaign to determine which bobbleheads will be distributed at select home games during the 2012-13 season.

Besides Maltby, three other former Wings have already secured bobblehead nights: centers Kris Draper Steve Yzerman, and defenseman Vladimir Konstantinov. Yzerman will be the first bobblehead appearing in the hands of 7,500 lucky fans at Joe Louis Arena.

The remaining two bobbleheads will be chosen through a week-by-week voting campaign on Voting begins every Tuesday at 12:01 p.m. EDT and closes the following Sunday at noon EDT.

View More