Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Detroit Red Wings

Lidstrom up for sixth Norris award

by Staff Writer / Detroit Red Wings
NEW YORK -- Nicklas Lidstrom has been named a finalist for the Norris Trophy, presented annually to the league's top defenseman.

Joining Lidstrom as finalists are Boston's Zdeno Chara and Calgary's Dion Phaneuf.

Members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association submitted ballots for the Norris Trophy at the conclusion of the regular-season, with the top three vote-getters announced as finalists. The winner will be announced Thursday, June 12 during the 2008 NHL Awards TV special, which will be broadcast live throughout Canada on CBC and the United States on VERSUS from the historic Elgin Theatre in Toronto.

Following are the finalists for the Norris Trophy:

Nicklas Lidstrom: He has won the award five times, earned his ninth Norris nomination in the past 10 seasons. The Norris winner 2001 through 2003, plus 2006 and 2007, Lidstrom helped the Red Wings post the NHL's best defensive record in 2007-08 -- a league-low 2.16 goals per game. In 76 games, Lidstrom led all NHL defensemen in scoring with 70 points (10 goals, 60 assists), ranked second in the NHL to teammate Pavel Datsyuk in plus-minus (+40) and was fourth among all players in average ice time per game (26:43).

Zdeno Chara: As a member of the Ottawa Senators, he finished second to New Jersey’s Scott Niedermayer in 2004, ranked third among NHL players in average ice time per game (26:50) and set career highs for goals (17), assists (34) and points (51) in a season. He led the Bruins and ranked eighth in the league with 223 hits and improved his plus-minus rating from -21 in 2006-07 to a team-high +14 this season.

Dion Phaneuf: The 23-year-old Phaneuf, who finished third behind Alex Ovechkin and Sidney Crosby in 2006 Calder Trophy voting as the league's top rookie, is a first-time Norris finalist. Along with leading Flames defensemen in scoring with a career-high 60 points (17 goals, 43 assists) in 82 games, Phaneuf led the Flames in average ice time per game (26:25) and hits (194). He also ranked second on the club in shots (263) and third in power-play goals (10).

History: The Norris Trophy was presented to the National Hockey League in 1953-54 by the four children of the late James Norris, in memory of the former owner-president of the Detroit Red Wings.

View More