Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Detroit Red Wings

Larkin named Red Wings rookie of the year

by Kyle Kujawa / Detroit Red Wings

DETROIT – Red Wings forward Dylan Larkin has been named the 2015-16 Red Wings rookie of the year by the Detroit Sports Broadcasters Association in a unanimous decision.

The 19-year-old Larkin made an immediate impact with the Red Wings this season, becoming the first teenager to play for the team since Jiri Hudler in 2003-04 and the first to crack the opening night lineup since Mike Sillinger in 1990-91. Larkin notched his first NHL goal and assist during his debut on Oct. 9 vs. Toronto and went on to be named the NHL’s Rookie of the Month in November. He ultimately finished among the league’s rookie leaders with 23 goals (T3rd), 22 assists (11th), 45 points (6th), a plus-11 rating (T5th), five game-winning goals (T2nd), 221 shots on goal (2nd) and 16:32 average time on ice (5th among forwards).

“It was an exciting year for me personally, being able to wear the winged wheel and skate alongside great players who I grew up watching,” said Larkin. “I’d like to thank the Detroit Sports Broadcasters Association for this honor and to the fans of Hockeytown for all the support this season. Playing for the Red Wings was a dream come true, and I’m looking forward to working hard this summer to get better for next season.”

Larkin led the Red Wings in goals, plus-minus, game-winning goals and shots on goal, joining an exclusive group that includes four former DSBA Red Wings rookie of the year winners of rookies to lead Detroit in goal-scoring: Mike Foligno (1979-80), Dale McCourt (1977-78), Michel Bergeron (1975-76), Tom Webster (1970-71) and Carl Liscombe (1937-38). He also became just the third Red Wings rookie to be selected to the NHL All-Star Game, joining Steve Yzerman (1984) and Reed Larson (1978). Larkin broke a skills-competition record that had stood since before he was born, as his 13.172 lap time in the NHL’s fastest skater competition bested Mike Gartner’s record from the 1996 NHL All-Star Weekend. He recently represented the United States at the 2016 IIHF World Championship in Russia and produced nine points (2-7-9) in 10 games.

Originally drafted by the Red Wings in the first round (15th overall) of the 2014 NHL draft, Larkin spent the 2014-15 campaign at the University of Michigan and finished second among all NCAA freshman in scoring, picking up 47 points (15-32-47) in 35 games. He earned national recognition as an NCAA Second-Team All-American and was also named Big Ten Freshman of the Year, First-Team All-Big Ten and was tabbed to the All-Big Ten Rookie Team. The Waterford, Mich., native also represented the United States at the 2015 IIHF World Junior Championship in Toronto and Montreal and at the 2015 IIHF World Championship in Prague, Czech Republic, prior to signing his first professional contract in May 2015. Prior to his collegiate career, Larkin spent two seasons with the U.S. National Team Development Program in Ann Arbor, Mich., and won a gold medal at the 2014 IIHF Under-18 World Championship.

Larkin will be honored by the DSBA prior to a Red Wings home game during the 2016-17 season. The DSBA Red Wings rookie of the year award dates back to the 1948-49 NHL season. Previous recipients of the award include current Red Wings Pavel Datsyuk, Danny DeKeyser, Jonathan Ericsson, Johan Franzen, Jimmy Howard, Niklas Kronwall, Petr Mrazek, Gustav Nyquist and Henrik Zetterberg.

Previous DSBA Red Wings Rookie of the Year Award Winners
 2014-15 - Petr Mrazek  1980-81 - John Barrett  1963-64 - Pit Martin
 2013-14 - Danny DeKeyser  1979-80 - Mike Foligno  1962-63 - Doug Barkley
 2012-13 - Gustav Nyquist  1978-79 - Willie Huber  1961-62 - Bruce MacGregor
 2011-12 - Cory Emmerton  1977-78 - Dale McCourt  1960-61 - Hank Bassen
 2010-11 - Jakub Kindl  1976-77 - Jim Nahrgang  1959-60 - Murray Oliver
 2009-10 - Jimmy Howard  1975-76 - Michel Bergeron  1958-59 - Len Lunde
 2008-09 - Jonathan Ericsson  1974-75 - Bill Lochead  1957-58 - Don Poile
 2007-08 - Derek Meech  1973-74 - Bill Hogaboam  1956-57 - Billy Dea
 2006-07 - Jiri Hudler  1972-73 - Henry Boucha  1955-56 - Glenn Hall
 2005-06 - Johan Franzen  1971-72 - Marcel Dionne  1954-55 - None awarded
 2004-05 - None awarded  1970-71 - Tom Webster  1953-54 - Bill Dineen
 2003-04 - Niklas Kronwall  1969-70 - Al Karlander  1952-53 - Marcel Bonin
 2002-03 - Henrik Zetterberg  1968-69 - Paul Popiel  1951-52 - Glen Skov
 2001-02 - Pavel Datsyuk  1967-68 - Gary Jarrett/Roy Edwards  1950-51 - Terry Sawchuk
 2000-01 - None awarded  1966-67 - None awarded  1949-50 - Steve Black
 1999-00 - Jiri Fischer  1965-66 - Bert Marshall  1948-49 - Max McNab
 1982-98 - None awarded  1964-65 - Roger Crozier  
View More