Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Detroit Red Wings

Detroit broadcasters tab Meech for award

by Todd Beam / Detroit Red Wings
DETROIT -- Defenseman Derek Meech has been named the 2007-08 Detroit Red Wings Rookie of the Year by the Detroit Sports Broadcasters Association (DSBA). Meech, 24, appeared in 32 regular-season games, finishing with three assists and averaging just over 12 minutes of ice time per game.

A versatile player, he also appeared in several games at forward last season. He recorded his first NHL point with an assist on February 18 against Colorado.

“It’s a tremendous honor to be selected as the DSBA Rookie of the Year,” Meech said. “I’m very happy to be a part of both the Red Wings' organization and the city of Detroit, and I’m thrilled to be joining the exclusive company of past winners of the award. I’m really looking forward to getting back on the ice next season to defend our Stanley Cup championship.”

Meech was Detroit’s seventh round pick (229th overall) in the 2002 NHL Entry Draft. He had previously played for the Red Deer Rebels of the Western Hockey League.

The DSBA Rookie of the Year Award originated following the 1948-49 season.  Previous winners of the award include current Red Wings Henrik Zetterberg, Pavel Datsyuk, Johan Franzen, Niklas Kronwall and Jiri Hudler.

Past DSBA Rookie of the Year Award Winners

2006-07 Jiri Hudler 1974-75 Bill Lochead 1959-60 Murray Oliver
2005-06 Johan Franzen 1973-74 Bill Hogaboam 1958-59 Len Lunde
2004-05 NA 1972-73 Henry Boucha 1957-58 Don Poile
2003-04 Niklas Kronwall 1971-72 Marcel Dionne 1956-57 Billy Dea
2002-03 Henrik Zetterberg 1970-71 Tom Webster 1955-56 Glenn Hall
2001-02 Pavel Datsyuk 1969-70 Al Karlander 1954-55 NA
2000-01 NA 1968-69 Paul Popiel 1953-54 Bill Dineen
1999-00 Jiri Fischer 1967-68 Gary Jarrett/Roy Edwards 1952-53 Marcel Bonin
1982-98 NA 1966-67 NA 1951-52 Glen Skov
1980-81 John Barrett 1965-66 Bert Marshall 1950-51 Terry Sawchuk
1979-80 Mike Foligno 1964-65 Roger Crozier 1949-50 Steve Black
1978-79 Willie Huber 1963-64 Pit Martin 1948-49 Max McNab
1977-78 Dale McCourt 1962-63 Doug Barkley  
1976-77 Jim Nahrgang 1961-62 Bruce MacGregor  
1975-76 Michel Bergeron 1960-61 Hank Bassen  

View More