Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Detroit Red Wings

Another stop in Yzerman's hall tour

by Staff Writer / Detroit Red Wings
The Michigan Sports Hall of Fame is one more stop en route to hockey immortality for Yzerman.
DETROIT – Monday’s Michigan Sports Hall of Fame ceremonies at the Max M. Fisher Music Center will be another step in Steve Yzerman’s journey to hockey immortality.

Yzerman, who sparked the rebirth of the Red Wings during his 22 season career, leading the franchise to three Stanley Cup championships as the longest running captain in team history, will more than likely be elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame on his first ballot.

Now the Red Wings vice president and alternate governor, Yzerman set many team records in Hockeytown. The former Selke Trophy (1999-2000) and Lester Pearson Award (1988-89) winner entered the Ottawa Sports Hall of Fame last month. Yzerman grew up in suburban Ottawa.

Yzerman will enter the Michigan hall with fellow Detroit alumni Norm Ullman, who wore the Red Wings’ sweater from 1955-68. Ullman was a part of a Hockeytown Cup celebration as a rookie. A prolific scorer, he led the Wings in goals in three different seasons. He was enshrined in the hockey hall of fame in 1982.

Ullman, 72, is not able to attend Monday's ceremonies.

The event will feature the announcement of the MSHOF Wright & Filippis Courage Award presented annually to a sporting figure, who has demonstrated dedication and perseverance in the athletic arena. Other event highlights include a Hollywood-style red-carpet entrance complete with special commemorative photographs.
Ullman led the Red Wings in goals in three different seasons and was part of the '55 team that won the Cup, beating Montreal in seven games.

"We are extremely proud to once again host the state of Michigan's sports version of the Academy Awards honoring a prestigious group of extraordinary athletes who have provided so many great moments for sports fans throughout the state of Michigan," said Tony Michaels, CEO Big Boy Restaurants and MSHOF Chairman. "The addition of the new Upper Deck tickets will provide an exciting opportunity for sports fans to witness the enshrinement ceremony of these sporting legends in a stadium atmosphere."

The remaining class of 2007 inductees are:
  • WJR AM 760 play-by-play announcer and pioneering sports talk host, Frank Beckmann
  • Michigan Heisman Trophy winner and Super Bowl MVP, Desmond Howard
  • Olympic gold medalist swimmer from Michigan State University, Clarke Scholes
  • Detroit Piston player and 1974 NBA Coach of the Year, Ray Scott
  • Olympic gold medalist and kayaking legend from Homer, Mich., Greg Barton
  • Michigan great and NBA All-Star from Flint, Glen Rice
  • Detroit Stars Negro League legend, Turkey Stearnes
  • Ceciliaville founder and Detroit basketball legend, Sammy Washington
View More