Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Detroit Red Wings

A dozen head to Grand Rapids

by Randy Cleves / Detroit Red Wings
GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. – The Red Wings on Sunday assigned 12 players to the Grand Rapids Griffins: goaltender Thomas McCollum; defensemen Brian Lashoff, Logan Pyett and Brendan Smith; and forwards Joakim Andersson, Willie Coetzee, Cory Emmerton, Chris Minard, Jordan Owens, Francis Pare, Jamie Tardif and Tomas Tatar.

As many as 21 players will take to the ice on Monday when the Griffins hold their first local practice at 10:30 a.m. EDT at Griff’s IceHouse.

The Griffins will aim for their 15th consecutive opening night sellout this Friday, Oct. 8 when they host the Abbotsford Heat at 7 p.m., marking the first time since 2005 that they’ll open the AHL’s regular season at home.  Tickets are still available by visiting or calling the Griffins at 616-774-4585.
View More