Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Detroit Red Wings

11 Wings' alums among hall nominees

by Bill Roose / Detroit Red Wings
DETROIT – Among the nominees for this year’s class of inductees into the Hockey Hall of Fame’ are 11 former players who at one time or another played for the Red Wings during their careers.

Igor Larionov, Mike Vernon, Dino Ciccarelli and John Ogrodnick top the list of former Red Wings eligible for nomination into the Class of 2008.

Larionov played in Detroit from 1995-2003 and helped the Red Wings win three Stanley Cups during his Hockeytowen career. Vernon was on Detroit’s roster from 1995-97 and guided the team to its first Stanley Cup championship in 42 years.

Ciccarelli played in Detroit from 1992-96, and Ogrodnick (1979-87, 1992-93) was the second player in team history to score more than 50 goals in a season.

Also eligible for induction into the hall of fame later this year, are defensemen Larry Hillman (1954-57) and Jean-Guy Talbot (1967-68), centers Adam Oates (1985-89) and Garry Unger (1967-71), right wings Steve Thomas (2003-04) and Pat Verbeek (1999-2001) and goalie Rogie Vachon (1978-80).
The annual meeting of the Selection Committee will be held on June 17 in Toronto to select and announce this year’s elite class, which will be inducted this fall at the annual Induction Weekend festivities that will be held Nov. 7-10 in Toronto.
View More