Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Twenty Rangers Now In U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame

by Jim Cerny / New York Rangers

Former Rangers captain Chris Drury and defenseman Mathieu Schneider became the 19th and 20th members of the New York Rangers organization elected to the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame when the 2015 inductees were announced on Monday morning. The official ceremony will take place on December 17 in Boston.

Sixteen players who once donned the Blueshirt have now been elected to the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame with the additions of Drury and Schneider. That list includes 1994 Stanley Cup champions Brian Leetch, Mike Richter, and Eddie Olczyk and other notables such as Pat LaFontaine, Tony Amonte, Doug Weight, John Vanbiesbrouck, and Robbie Ftorek.

Former Rangers head coach Herb Brooks, who coached the 1980 Team USA Miracle on Ice gold medal-winning squad, was elected into the U.S, Hockey Hall of Fame in 1990; while former Rangers executives William M. Jennings, Craig Patrick and Larry Pleau were inducted as USA Hockey administrators.

Drury, who said Monday that he was "honored and humbled" by his selection into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame, played four years with the Rangers beginning in the 2007-08 season. He was named captain of the Rangers on October 3, 2008 and served in that capacity for the final three seasons of his 12-year NHL career.

Schneider, who played for four Original Six teams over the course of his 20-year career in the National Hockey League, wore the Blueshirt during the 1998-99 and 1999-2000 seasons. On Monday he referred to the Rangers as a "great organization" and added it was "truly special" to play for the Rangers.

Five people with ties to the Rangers organization have been elected to both to the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame and the Hockey Hall of Fame. They are Brian Leetch, Pat LaFontaine, William M. Jennings, Herb Brooks and Craig Patrick.

View More