Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Schoenfeld Named AHL's Ebright Award Winner

by Matthew Calamia / New York Rangers

Jim Schoenfeld, the Rangers' Senior Vice President and Assistant General Manager, was honored with the American Hockey League's Thomas Ebright Award on Wednesday night in recognition of his career contributions to the League.

The award is in honor of Thomas Ebright, the former owner and governor of the Baltimor Skipjacks and Portland Pirates who passed away in 1997.

Schoenfeld, who has been the General Manager of the Hartford Wolf Pack for the past 13 seasons, has deep roots in the AHL dating back to his playing days in Cincinnati during the 1973-74 season.

The Galt, Ontario-native was the head coach of Rochester for the 1984-85 season, and returned to an AHL bench for two seasons in 2005 in Hartford. He has also served on the League's competition and executive committees.

"The American Hockey League is comprised of 30 teams all with their own specific agends," Schoenfeld said. "However, it has been refreshing over the years to see all involved put those agendas aside to come together in a decision making process that places the good of the League as the number one priority.

"Although in many ways I feel there are members of the League much more deserving of this award than I am, I must say it is a very good feeling to be well thought of by the group," Schoenfeld continued. "Special thanks to [AHL President/CEO] Dave Andrews, [Syracuse Crunch President/CEO] Howard Dolgon, [St. John's IceCaps COO) Glen Stanford and [recently-retired long-time Hersehy Bears GM] Doug Yingst."

Schoenfeld has been instrumental in helping Rangers prospects reach New York by way of Hartford. There are 11 current Blueshirts who played under Schoenfeld early in their careers, including Dan Girardi, Ryan McDonagh, Chris Kreider and J.T. Miller.

"Jim Schoenfeld has provided invaluable leadership in the American Hockey League throughout his career as a coach, as a general manager and with our Board of Governors," Andrews said. "We're proud to recognize him and his contributions with the Thomas Ebright Award."

View More