Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Ryan McDonagh Named 2013-14 Team MVP & Winner Of Players' Player Award

by Staff Writer / New York Rangers

The New York Rangers announced today that Ryan McDonagh was named the Rangers’ MVP and received the Players’ Player Award for the 2013-14 season.

The Rangers’ MVP award was voted on by the New York Rangers media. McDonagh is the first defenseman to receive the award since Brian Leetch in 2002-03. He is also the 10th defenseman to be selected as the Rangers’ MVP since the award’s inception following the 1941-42 season, joining Leetch, James Patrick, Barry Beck, Dave Maloney, Brad Park, Harry Howell, Bill Gadsby, Hy Buller, and Ott Heller.

Ryan McDonagh
Goals: 14 | Assists: 29 | Pts: 43
Shots: 177 | +/-: +11
The Players’ Player Award, voted on by the Rangers players, recognizes the player who best exemplifies what it means to be a team player. This is the first time McDonagh has won the award, which has been given annually since the conclusion of the 1958-59 season.

The Rangers defenseman has established career-highs in goals (14), assists (29), points (43), power play goals (two), power play assists (11), power play points (13), shorthanded goals (three), shorthanded points (four), game-winning goals (four), and shots on goal (177) this season. McDonagh is tied for fifth in the NHL in shorthanded goals, 10th in shorthanded points, is tied for sixth among defensemen in goals and 16th among defensemen in points.

The 24-year-old leads the team in average ice time (24:49), is tied for third in plus/minus rating (plus-11) and game-winning goals, ranks fourth in assists, is tied for fourth in power play assists, ranks fifth in points and power play points, and is second in blocked shots (131).

The St. Paul, Minn. native also represented Team USA at the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi, Russia. McDonagh tallied one goal and one assist for two points in six games, and ranked second on Team USA in average ice time (20:44).

View More