Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Rangers Capture Inaugural Pat LaFontaine Trophy

by Staff Writer / New York Rangers
With two wins over the Islanders in as many nights, the Rangers captured the inaugural Pat LaFontaine Trophy tonight at Nassau Coliseum.

Radek Dvorak led the way for the Blueshirts in the deciding match with a career high four-goal effort, while linemates Mark Messier and Manny Malhotra each chipped in with a pair of assists in the win.

With the 6-4 victory, the Rangers won the first Pat LaFontaine Trophy, which is awarded to the winner of the season series. The Blueshirts won three of the five games this season. The losing ownership donates $100,000 to three charities of the winner's choice. Islanders owner Charles Wang will donate to Madison Square Garden Cheering for Children, the Lustgarten Foundation for Pancreatic Cancer and NYR SKATE, a division of MSG's Cheering for Children Foundation.

The Rangers' win tonight sealed the New York honor after the Blueshirts evened the season series at two games apiece on Wednesday with a 4-2 victory over their division rivals.

LaFontaine registered 1,013 career points in 865 career matches with the Islanders, Rangers and Buffalo Sabres over 15 NHL seasons.
View More