Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Rangers Announce 2018 Traverse City Tournament Roster

Annual tournament begins Sept. 7 in Michigan

by New York Rangers @NYRangers / New York Rangers

The New York Rangers have announced their roster for the 2018 Traverse City Tournament in Traverse City, Michigan. The Blueshirts are making their 12th consecutive appearance in the eight-team tournament, which is set to begin on Friday, September 7.   

New York's roster features 24 prospects (14 forwards, eight defensemen, and two goaltenders), including Lias Andersson and Filip Chytil, who both finished the 2017-18 season with the Rangers. In addition, three players who were acquired by the Rangers in trades in February of 2018, Libor Hajek, Brett Howden, and Ryan Lindgren, will represent the Blueshirts at the Traverse City Tournament for the first time. Nine prospects on the Rangers' roster for the 2018 Traverse City Tournament were selected by the team in the NHL Entry Draft, and the roster includes two of the Blueshirts' selections from the 2018 NHL Entry Draft, Nico Gross and Joey Keane. Forwards Michael Lindqvist and Ville Meskanen, who were signed by the Rangers as free agents in May of 2018, will both participate in this year's tournament. Several prospects on this year's roster have also represented the Rangers at the Traverse City Tournament in recent years. Andersson, Brandon Crawley, Gabriel Fontaine, Dawson Leedahl, and Chris Nell participated in the 2017 Traverse City Tournament, while Sean Day, Tim Gettinger, and Ty Ronning played in the tournament in both 2016 and 2017. Ronning served as the Rangers' captain during the 2017 Traverse City Tournament.

Forwards: Lias Andersson, Filip Chytil, Gabriel Fontaine, Tim Gettinger, Brett Howden, Reese Johnson, Dawson Leedahl, Michael Lindqvist, Drew Melanson, Ville Meskanen, Kyle Potts, Ty Ronning, Jason Salvaggio, Jakob Stukel.

Defenseman: Brandon Crawley, Sean Day, Nico Gross, Libor Hajek, Tyson Helgesen, Joey Keane, Ryan Lindgren, Derek Pratt.

Goalies: Jeremy Brodeur, Chris Nell. 

The Rangers are one of four teams that comprise the Ted Lindsay Division, along with the Dallas Stars, Detroit Red Wings, and Minnesota Wild. The Blueshirts begin the tournament with a contest against Dallas on Friday, September 7 at 7:00 p.m. New York will face Minnesota on Saturday, September 8 at 6:30 p.m. and Detroit on Monday, September 10 at 4:00 p.m. Following their three round-robin games, the Rangers will have a placement game against a team from the Gordie Howe Division on Tuesday, September 11.

Over the 11 years the Rangers have previously participated in the Traverse City Tournament, they have reached the Championship Game twice and won the Tournament in 2007. Current Blueshirts such as Marc Staal, Jesper Fast, Kevin Hayes, Brady Skjei, Pavel Buchnevich, Jimmy Vesey, and Neal Pionk all represented the team at the tournament in recent years.

In every year since the team began participating in the Traverse City Tournament in 2006, at least one Rangers prospect who represented the team in the tournament also played in an NHL game with the Rangers during the same season. Four players who represented the Rangers in the 2017 Traverse City Tournament also played in an NHL game with the Blueshirts during the 2017-18 season.

Notable NYR Traverse Alumni
2006 Ryan Callahan, Brandon Dubinsky
2007 Brandon Dubinsky, Lauri Korpikoski, Marc Staal
2008 Artem Anisimov
2009 Michael Del Zotto, Chad Johnson
2010 Evgeny Grachev, Ryan McDonagh, Derek Stepan
2011 Tim Erixon, Carl Hagelin
2013 Conor Allen, Jesper Fast
2014 Anthony Duclair, Kevin Hayes, Mackenzie Skapski
2015 Brady Skjei
2016 Pavel Buchnevich, Boo Nieves, Jimmy Vesey
2017 Lias Andersson, Alex Georgiev, Vinni Lettieri, Neal Pionk
Year Player(s)
Tournament Schedule
Friday Sept. 7 Dallas 7:00 PM
Saturday Sept. 8 Minnesota 6:30 PM
Monday Sept. 10 Detroit 4:00 PM
Tuesday Sept. 11 Placement Game TBD
Day Date Opponent Time
View More