Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Rangers Announce 2016 Traverse City Roster

by Staff Writer / New York Rangers

The New York Rangers have announced their roster for the 2016 Traverse City Tournament in Traverse City, Michigan. The Blueshirts are making their 10th consecutive appearance in the eight-team tournament, which is set to begin on Friday, September 16.

New York's roster features 25 prospects (15 forwards, eight defensemen, and two goaltenders), including three of the team's selections in the 2016 NHL Entry Draft: Sean Day, Tim Gettinger, and Ty Ronning. The roster also includes 2016 Hobey Baker Award winner Jimmy Vesey, who signed with the Rangers as a free agent on August 19, 2016, as well as forward Pavel Buchnevich, who will be participating in the Traverse City Tournament for the first time.

Several of the prospects on this year's roster also represented the Rangers at the 2015 Traverse City Tournament, including 2015 draft picks Ryan Gropp, Brad Morrison, and Sergey Zborovskiy. In addition, 2015 draft pick Robin Kovacs will participate in the Traverse City Tournament for the first time this year. Traverse City, Michigan, native Brandon Halverson, who did not appear in a game during last year's tournament due to injury, is one of two goaltenders on the Rangers' roster this year. Twelve of the 25 players on this year's roster were selected by the Rangers in the NHL Entry Draft.

The Rangers are one of four teams that comprise the Ted Lindsay Division, along with the Carolina Hurricanes, Dallas Stars, and Minnesota Wild. The Blueshirts begin the tournament with a contest against Carolina on Friday, September 16 at 4:00 p.m. New York will face Dallas on Saturday, September 17 at 3:30 p.m. and the Wild on Monday, September 19 at 3:00 p.m. Following their three round-robin games, the Rangers will have a placement game against a team from the Gordie Howe Division on Tuesday, September 20. In the nine years the Rangers have previously participated in the Traverse City Tournament, they have reached the Championship Game twice and won the Tournament in 2007. Current Blueshirts such as Ryan McDonagh, Derek Stepan, Marc Staal, J.T. Miller, Jesper Fast, Oscar Lindberg, Kevin Hayes, and Brady Skjei all represented the team at the tournament in recent years.

In every year since the Rangers began participating in the Traverse City Tournament in 2006, at least one Rangers prospect who represented the team in the tournament also appeared in a game with the Blueshirts during the same season.

View More