Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Rangers announce 2009-10 team awards

by Staff Writer / New York Rangers
Callahan Repeats as McDonald Winner

The New York Rangers have announced the 2009-10 Team Awards, including the Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award, presented by Lightspeed Trading; the John Halligan Good Guy Award; the Rangers’ MVP and the Players’ Player Award. 

The Rangers’ MVP, voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers Association, was awarded to Henrik Lundqvist.  This is the fourth consecutive year that Lundqvist has won the award, which marks the most consecutive years an individual has been named Rangers’ MVP.
Henrik Lundqvist

Lundqvist currently ranks fifth in the NHL in saves (1,872) and sixth in time on ice (4,078:49).  He has recorded four shutouts this season, while ranking ninth in the NHL in goals against average (2.40) and 11th in wins (34). Lundqvist is the only goalie in NHL history to post 30-or-more wins in each of his first five seasons, and the first Rangers goaltender in team history to post five straight 30-win seasons. 

The Players’ Player Award, voted on by the Ranger players, was given to captain Chris Drury.  The award recognizes the Rangers player who best exemplifies what it means to be a teammate. 

Drury was also nominated by the New York Chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, awarded annually to the NHL player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to ice hockey..  Only four Ranger players have been selected for this award since its inception in 1968.

Chris Drury
Drury is serving in his second year as Captain of the New York Rangers.  He leads all NHL forwards in blocked shots (97) and ranks 22nd in faceoff percentage.   Drury was a member of the silver-medal winning US Men’s Olympic Ice Hockey Team, registering two goals and a plus-three rating.

The John Halligan Good Guy Award, selected by the New York Rangers Media, recognizes players’ cooperation with the media. This year’s recipients are Erik Christensen and Vinny Prospal, both in their first season with the team. 

This year the award was renamed in honor of John Halligan, a longtime Rangers and NHL Public Relations executive who passed away earlier this year.  Throughout his 53 year career, Halligan was a beloved figure in the world of New York Sports and a champion of hockey in the media.

Ryan Callahan
The Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award, presented by Lightspeed Trading, and voted on by the fans, recognizing the player who performs “above and beyond the call of duty,” was awarded to Ryan Callahan

The award is named after New York City police officer Steven McDonald, who was shot and injured in the call of duty in November of 1988.  This award has been given annually to the player who fans believe plays with extra effort on the ice.  This is the second consecutive year that Callahan has received this award.

Callahan currently ranks second in the NHL in hits (283) and fourth among forwards in blocked shots (81).  Named Alternate Captain prior to the start of the regular season, Callahan ranks second on the Rangers in power play goals (nine) and third in power play points (20). 

He has played in 76 games this season, registering 19 goals and 18 assists for 37 points, along with 48 penalty minutes.
View More