Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

McCarthy Honored For Extra Effort

by Staff Writer / New York Rangers

Prior to tonight's Rangers - Penguins game, Sandy McCarthy was presented with the 2001-02 Amtrak Acela Extra Effort Award, his second such honor in as many seasons.

Following the 1987-88 season, the Rangers established a new award dedicated to paralyzed New York City police officer Steve McDonald, who was shot in the line of duty. The award was named after Officer McDonald and is presented annually to the Rangers player "who goes above and beyond the call of duty." In addition, a $25,000 check is presented annually to the Steven McDonald Foundation.

Past winners include Adam Graves, Wayne Gretzky, Brian Leetch, Mark Messier, Jan Erixon, John Vanbiesbrouck, Kelly Kisio and Tony Granato.
View More