Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Lundqvist picked for Elimination Shootout

by Staff Writer / New York Rangers
Rangers goaltender Henrik Lundqvist will be one of four netminders competing in Saturday night's Gatorade NHL Elimination Shootout at Montreal's Bell Centre, which will be the finale to the 2009 Honda/NHL SuperSkills competition.

Henrik Lundqvist, who is arguably the best shootout goaltender in NHL history, will face the league's elite on Saturday.
Lundqvist, one of six goalies who will play in Sunday's NHL All-Star Game, is one of four slated to compete in the Elimination Shootout. He will represent the Eastern Conference along with Boston Bruins' goalie Tim Thomas. Nicklas Backstrom of Minnesota and J.S. Giguere of Anaheim will represent the Western Conference.

Each of the four goalies will face penalty-shot attempts from nine All-Star shooters in a game of hockey survivor. Only shooters who score will advance, and the competition will continue until a round is completed in which only one shooter scores.

During a random draw conducted on Friday in Montreal, each goalie selected nine players to face from among the 36 All-Star Game skaters. Following the draw, the goaltenders were permitted to ‘trade’ their player assignment, and Lundqvist was involved in one of the two transactions.

Lundqvist traded Martin St. Louis to Giguere so that Lundqvist could face Dallas' Stephane Robidas instead of Tampa Bay's St. Louis. Another trade saw Thomas deal his assignment against Ilya Kovalchuk to Backstrom in exchange for the opportunity to face his division rival Alex Kovalev.

The event will open with Backstrom facing all nine of his shooters at one end of the Bell Centre ice; Lundqvist, Giguere and Thomas will follow, at alternating ends of the ice.

Here is a look at the schedule for the first round of the Elimination Shootout:

(1) Niklas Backstrom (Min.) -- Jonathan Toews (Chi.), Zach Parise (N.J.), Shea Weber (Nsh.), Scott Niedermayer (Ana.), Sheldon Souray (Edm.), Marc Savard (Bos.), Patrick Marleau (S.J.), Dany Heatley (Ott.), Ilya Kovalchuk (Atl.).

(2) Henrik Lundqvist (NYR) -- Shane Doan (Phx.), Dustin Brown (L.A.), Stephane Robidas (Dal.), Andrei Markov (Mtl.), Zdeno Chara (Bos.), Keith Tkachuk (StL), Jeff Carter (Phi.), Rick Nash (CBJ), Vincent Lecavalier (T.B.).

(3) J.S. Giguere (Ana.) -- Thomas Vanek (Buf.), Milan Hejduk (Col.), Tomas Kaberle (Tor.), Dan Boyle (S.J.), Mike Komisarek (Mtl.), Joe Thornton (S.J.), Jarome Iginla (Cgy.), Martin St. Louis (T.B.), Patrick Kane (Chi.).

(4) Tim Thomas (Bos.) -- Eric Staal (Car.), Mark Streit (NYI), Brian Campbell (Chi.), Jay Bouwmeester (Fla.), Mike Modano (Dal.), Ryan Getzlaf (Ana.), Evgeni Malkin (Pit.), Alex Ovechkin (Wsh.), Alex Kovalev (Mtl.).
View More