Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Lundqvist named Rangers MVP

by Staff Writer / New York Rangers
Dubinsky Wins Extra Effort Award

Fan Club Honors Trio of Blueshirts
Past Rangers MVP Winners
Past Good Guy Award Winners
Past Players' Player Award Winners

On Friday night, following their final regular-season home game, the Rangers organization announced the 2007-08 winners of the annual team awards.

Henrik Lundqvist, who notched his 10th shutout of the season on April 3, against the Islanders, was named the Rangers Most Valuable Player for the second consecutive season, as voted by the Professional Hockeywriters Association. He is the first back-to-back winner of the award since Mark MessIer in 1994 and 1995.

Lundqvist , who set the Rangers record for starts in a season with 72, was also the recipient of the 2007-08 Rangers Good Guy Award for his cooperation with the media.

Colton Orr, leading the team in penalty minutes, and Jason Strudwick, in his third season with the Blueshirts, were named co-recipients of the Players' Player Award, voted by the Rangers players.
View More