Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Lias Andersson Named Winner of 2018 Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award

Award given to top rookie in Training Camp

by New York Rangers @NYRangers /

The New York Rangers announced today that Lias Andersson has been named this year's winner of the Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award, which is given annually to the top Rangers rookie in Training Camp as selected by the media.

Andersson, 19, skated in five of the Rangers' six preseason games this year, registering two goals and a plus-two rating. Andersson, who was selected by the Rangers in the first round (seventh overall) of the 2017 NHL Entry Draft, tallied two goals - one on the power play and one while shorthanded - in the Rangers' preseason opener on Sept. 17 at New Jersey.

The 6-1, 204-pounder played seven games with the Rangers in 2017-18, registering one goal and one assist for two points, along with a plus-one rating. Andersson tallied his first career NHL goal/point while making his NHL debut on Mar. 26, 2018 vs. Washington, and he became the youngest player (19 years, 164 days old) to register a goal in his NHL debut in Rangers history.

The Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award, which was first presented in 1988, honors the memory of Lars-Erik Sjoberg, who was the Rangers chief European scout for eight years. During his tenure with the Blueshirts, Sjoberg played a prominent role in the team's decision to draft Europeans such as Tomas Sandstrom, Jan Erixon, and Ulf Dahlen. Prior to joining the Rangers as a scout, Sjoberg played five seasons with the Winnipeg Jets during their time in the World Hockey Association (WHA), and he also skated with Winnipeg in its inaugural NHL season in 1979-80. Current Rangers who have won the Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award prior to this year include Henrik Lundqvist (2005), Marc Staal (2007), Jesper Fast (2013), Jimmy Vesey (2016), and Filip Chytil (2017).

In addition to Andersson, Filip Chytil and Vinni Lettieri received votes from the media for the Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award this year.


1988   Mike Richter
1989   Troy Mallette
1990   Steven Rice
1991   Tony Amonte
1992   Peter Andersson
1993   Mattias Norstrom
1994   Mattias Norstrom
1995   Niklas Sundstrom
1996   Eric Cairns
1997   Marc Savard
1998   Manny Malhotra
1999   Kim Johnsson
2000   Filip Novak
2001   Dan Blackburn
2002   Jamie Lundmark
2003   Dominic Moore
2005   Henrik Lundqvist
2006   Nigel Dawes and Brandon Dubinsky
2007   Marc Staal
2008   Lauri Korpikoski
2009   Matt Gilroy
2010   Derek Stepan
2011   Carl Hagelin
2013   Jesper Fast
2014   Anthony Duclair
2015   Oscar Lindberg
2016   Jimmy Vesey
2017   Filip Chytil
2018   Lias Andersson

View More