Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Graves a Finalist for 2001 Masterton Trophy

by Staff Writer / New York Rangers
The Professional Hockey Writers Association (PHWA) announced that Rangers forward Adam Graves has been selected as one of three finalists for the 2001 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy. Graves is joined by veteran forwards Kevin Dineen of the Columbus Blue Jackets and Ray Ferraro of the Atlanta Thrashers.

The trophy is presented annually to the NHL player who best exemplifies the qualities of sportsmanship, perseverance and dedication to hockey. The winner
will be announced at the 18th Annual NHL Awards Television Special on Thursday, June 14 at Air Canada Centre in Toronto.

Graves, 33, tallied 10 goals and 16 assists, along with 77 penalty minutes in 82 games with New York last season. His dedication to his teammates, the Rangers fans and his sport has been unwavering through good times and bad. Even through his personal crises last season, Graves has remained very active in charity work, working extensively with New York metropolitan area charities including NYR S.K.A.T.E., a division of Madison Square Garden's Cheering For Children Foundation, Ice Hockey in Harlem, Toys For Tots, Family Dynamics and countless others.

Previous Rangers recipients of this award include: Jean Ratelle (1970-71), Rod Gilbert (1975-76) and Anders Hedberg (1984-85).

The Masterton Trophy is awarded by the PHWA, which will donate $2,500 to the Masterton Scholarship Fund in honor of the winner.

The trophy was presented to the NHL by the PHWA in 1968 to commemorate the late Bill Masterton of the Minnesota North Stars, who exhibited to a high degree
the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. Masterton passed away on January 15, 1968.
View More