Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Gilbert Inducted Into NCSC Hall of Fame

by Staff Writer / New York Rangers

Rangers legend and Hockey Hall of Famer Rod Gilbert joined NBA Hall of Famer and famed Philadelphia 76er Julius 'Dr. J' Erving and legendary NFL quarterback Boomer Esiason in being recognized by the Nassau County Sports Commission tonight at the 10th Annual Awards Dinner tonight at the Chateau Briand in Carle Place, New York.

Erving, Esiason and Gilbert were inducted into the Fifth Class of the NCSC Sports Hall of Fame.

In addition to the Hall of Fame inductions, the NCSC also handed out two National Awards and numerous local awards. The John Mackey Award for the top Division 1A collegiate football tight end was awarded to University of Miami junior Kellen Winslow II, while the Dick Schaap Award for the most outstanding sports journalist was presented to Sports Illustrated's Frank Deford.

Additional winners included: Holy Cross Men's Basketball Coach Ralph Willard (Al Arbour Award), two-time Breeders Cup champion jockey John Velazquez (Male Professional Athlete of the Year) and New York Sharks owner and quarterback Andra Douglas (Female Professional Athlete of the Year).

The NCSC is a non-profit organization created in 1992 to enhance the quality of life for Nassau County residents through sports and physical activity.
View More