Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Filip Chytil Named Winner of 2017 Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award

Award given to top rookie in Training Camp

by New York Rangers @NYRangers /

The New York Rangers announced today that Filip Chytil has been named this year's winner of the Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award, which is given annually to the top Rangers rookie in Training Camp as selected by the media.

Chytil, 18, is the first Ranger who has won the Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award in the same year he was selected in the NHL Entry Draft since Dan Blackburn in 2001. In addition, he is one of four players who have won the award in the same year they were drafted by the Rangers, along with Blackburn, Filip Novak (2000), and Manny Malhotra (1998).

Chytil, who was selected by the Rangers in the first round, 21st overall, of the 2017 NHL Entry Draft, skated in four games with the Rangers during the preseason this year, registering one goal and two assists for three points, along with a plus-one rating and two penalty minutes. He led the Rangers in shots on goal (14) and tied for the team lead in points in the preseason, and he was also the only Rangers rookie who recorded three points during the preseason this year. Chytil tallied a point in three of the four contests he played, and he registered the game-winning goal in overtime during his first game of the preseason on Sept. 20 vs. New Jersey.

The 6-2, 202-pounder skated in 38 games with Zlin in the Czech Extraliga last season, registering four goals and four assists for eight points, along with 16 penalty minutes. Chytil was one of 21 players younger than 18 years old who played in the Czech Extraliga in 2016-17, and he ranked second among players younger than 18 years old in the league in games played, goals, and points during the season.

The Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award, which was first presented in 1988, honors the memory of Lars-Erik Sjoberg, who was the Rangers chief European scout for eight years. During his tenure with the Blueshirts, Sjoberg played a prominent role in the team's decision to draft Europeans such as Tomas Sandstrom, Jan Erixon, and Ulf Dahlen. Prior to joining the Rangers as a scout, Sjoberg played five seasons with the Winnipeg Jets during their time in the World Hockey Association (WHA), and he also skated with Winnipeg in its inaugural NHL season in 1979-80. Current Rangers who have won the Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award prior to this year include Henrik Lundqvist (2005), Marc Staal (2007), Jesper Fast (2013), and Jimmy Vesey (2016).


  • 1988 Mike Richter
  • 1989 Troy Mallette
  • 1990 Steven Rice
  • 1991 Tony Amonte
  • 1992 Peter Andersson
  • 1993 Mattias Norstrom
  • 1994 Mattias Norstrom
  • 1995 Niklas Sundstrom
  • 1996 Eric Cairns
  • 1997 Marc Savard
  • 1998 Manny Malhotra
  • 1999 Kim Johnsson
  • 2000 Filip Novak
  • 2001 Dan Blackburn
  • 2002 Jamie Lundmark
  • 2003 Dominic Moore
  • 2005 Henrik Lundqvist
  • 2006 Nigel Dawes and Brandon Dubinsky
  • 2007 Marc Staal
  • 2008 Lauri Korpikoski
  • 2009 Matt Gilroy
  • 2010 Derek Stepan
  • 2011 Carl Hagelin
  • 2013 Jesper Fast
  • 2014 Anthony Duclair
  • 2015 Oscar Lindberg
  • 2016 Jimmy Vesey
  • 2017 Filip Chytil
View More