Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Fans laud Callahan for Extra Effort

by Staff Writer / New York Rangers
Rangers Announce Team Award Winners

Rangers alternate captain Ryan Callahan won his second straight Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award, presented by Lightspeed Trading, on Friday night, as he became only the fourth Blueshirts player to win the 22-year-old award in back-to-back seasons.

Callahan was selected as the winner in an online vote conducted on as well as text-message voting and in-arena voting during the 2009-10 season. Thousands of Blueshirts fans voted for the award, which since 1988 has been given annually to the player fans believe goes "above and beyond the call of duty" both on and off the ice. Only 14 different players have won the award over its 22-year history.

Alternate captain Ryan Callahan became the fourth player to win the Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award in back-to-back seasons on Friday night.
Callahan was honored with a special presentation prior to the Rangers’ final regular-season home game against Philadelphia on Friday night at MSG.

New York City police officer Steven McDonald, his wife Patti and son Connor were  joined by Stephen Ehrlich, the Chief Executive Officer of Lightspeed Trading, in presenting the award to Callahan on the MSG ice in front of the Zamboni gate.

McDonald, who was shot and injured in the line of duty in 1988, gave his annual speech to inspire the Rangers players before Connor McDonald announced Callahan as the award winner.

“Have you read the newspaper reports stating that time has run out on the New York Rangers?” McDonald asked. “Have you heard the nay-sayers say the lights have gone out on the Garden of Dreams? I say ‘Hell, no, to that!”

In announcing Callahan as the award winner, Connor McDonald reminded the crowd that Callahan, a 2010 Olympian, “made us all proud when he wore our country’s colors in Vancouver.”

Callahan, 25, has 19 goals and 37 points in 76 games this season and points in 78 games.  He also ranks second in the NHL in hits (283) and fourth among forwards in blocked shots (81). 

Only Adam Graves, a five-time award-winner, Mark Messier, and Sandy McCarthy have also won the McDonald Extra Effort Award in consecutive seasons.

At the conclusion of Friday night’s ceremony, Lightspeed Trading’s Ehrlich presented the Steven McDonald Foundation with a check for $25,000.

Ryan Callahan 2009-10
Ryan Callahan 2008-09
Brandon Dubinsky 2007-08
Jed Ortmeyer 2006-07
Henrik Lundqvist 2005-06
Jed Ortmeyer 2003-04
Matthew Barnaby 2002-03
Sandy McCarthy 2001-02
Sandy McCarthy 2000-01
Adam Graves 1999-00
Adam Graves 1998-99
Wayne Gretzky 1997-98
Brian Leetch 1996-97
Mark Messier 1995-96
Mark Messier 1994-95
Adam Graves 1993-94
Adam Graves 1992-93
Adam Graves 1991-92
Jan Erixon 1990-91
John Vanbiesbrouck and Kelly Kisio 1989-90
Tony Granato 1988-89
Jan Erixon 1987-88
View More