Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Fan Club honors trio of Blueshirts

by Staff Writer / New York Rangers
Dubinsky Wins Extra Effort Award

Past Fan Club Rookie of Year Winners
Past Ceil Saidel Award Winners
Past Boucher Trophy Winners

During the second intermission of Friday night's Rangers-Islanders game at Madison Square Garden, three Blueshirts players were announced as winners of the annual New York Rangers Fan Club awards.

Capturing the Rookie of the Year Award was Brandon Dubinsky, who had earlier claimed the Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award in a pregame ceremony.

The Fan Club's Ceil Saidel Award for dedication on and off the ice went to alternate captain Brendan Shanahan. It marked the second time that Shanahan had earned the honor, making him the first back-to-back winner since Brian Leetch in 2002 and 2003.

The prestigious Frank Boucher Trophy, awarded annually to the team's most popular player, was awarded to Sean Avery, who joined a long list of Blueshirts greats who have won the award since its inception in 1951.

Current Rangers Jaromir Jagr (2005-06) and Henrik Lundqvist (2006-07) have also won the Boucher Trophy.
View More