Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Derek Armstrong Captures AHL Scoring Title

by Staff Writer / New York Rangers
Derek Armstrong needs to make room on the mantel again.

The Wolf Pack center, who this week was named an AHL First Team All-Star and won the Les Cunningham Trophy as the League's MVP, today secured the John B. Sollenberger Trophy as the AHL's regular-season scoring champion.

Armstrong finished the season with 101 points on 32 goals and 69 assists. Jean-Guy Trudel of Springfield was second with 99.

Armstrong is the first player to win the MVP and scoring title in the same season since current teammate Brad Smyth in 1995-96.
View More