Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Dawes, Dubinsky win Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award

by Staff Writer / New York Rangers

The Rangers are proud to announce today that left wing Nigel Dawes and center Brandon Dubinsky have been selected as winners of the 2006 Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award, presented by Cherrypharm. Since 1988, the award is given annually to the best rookie at Rangers Training Camp as voted by select New York media.

The award will be presented to Dawes and Dubinsky by John Davey, President of Cherrypharm, tonight at Madison Square Garden on center ice prior to the start of the Rangers vs. Bruins game at 7:00 p.m.

Dawes and Dubinsky have both had impressive training camps thus far.

Dawes, 21, has recorded one goal and one assist for two points in three exhibition games and tallied the game-winning goal on September 23 vs. Florida in Puerto Rico. Last season he played in 77 games for the Hartford Wolfpack of the American Hockey League (AHL), registering 35 goals and 32 assists for 67 points, along with 21 penalty minutes.

Dubinsky, 20, has recorded one goal and a plus-one rating in two exhibition games. On September 19 in New Jersey, he tallied one goal and won 13 of 16 faceoffs in his pre-season debut. Last season he skated in 51 games with the Portland Winter Hawks of the Western Hockey League (WHL), tallying 21 goals and 46 assists for 67 points, along with 98 penalty minutes.

The award is named in tribute to Lars-Erik Sjoberg, one of the first European players to compete professionally in North America and captain of the Winnipeg Jets for six seasons. He later became a European scout for eight years for the Rangers. Sjoberg played a key role in the Rangers drafting of Swedish stars Tomas Sandstrom, Ulf Dahlen, Kjell Samuelsson and Jan Erixon. He passed away in 1987 and the award was created to honor his memory.

(Best Rookie of Training Camp)
Mike Richter 1988
Troy Mallette 1989
Steven Rice 1990
Tony Amonte 1991
Peter Andersson 1992
Mattias Norstrom 1993
Mattias Norstrom 1994
Niklas Sundstrom 1995
Eric Cairns 1996
Marc Savard 1997
Manny Malhotra 1998
Kim Johnsson 1999
Flip Novak 2000
Dan Blackburn 2001
Jamie Lundmark 2002
Dominic Moore 2003
Henrik Lundqvist 2005
Nigel Dawes & Brandon Dubinsky 2006
View More