Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Callahan wins third McDonald Award

by Staff Writer / New York Rangers
Past McDonald Award Winners

The New York Rangers announced that team captain Ryan Callahan has been named winner of the 2011-12 Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award.

The Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award recognizes the player who performs “above and beyond the call of duty.” The award, which is voted on by the fans, is named after New York City police officer Steven McDonald, who was shot and injured in the call of duty in November of 1988.

The award has been given annually since 1988 to the player who fans believe plays with extra
effort on the ice.

Blueshirts captain Ryan Callahan accepts the 2011-12 Steven McDonald Extra Effort award in a pregame ceremony with Patti, Steven, and Conor McDonald, as well as Rangers legend Mark Messier.
Callahan, 27, has registered 28 goals and 25 assists for 53 points, along with 55 penalty minutes in 71 games this season. He ranks third on the Rangers in points, second in goals and fifth in assists.

He ranks second among NHL forwards in blocked shots (85), is tied for seventh among all NHL skaters in power play goals (12), fifth in game-winning goals (eight) and ranks fifth in hits (258). In addition, Callahan is tied for the team lead and 16th in the NHL in shorthanded points (three).

The Rochester, New York native joins Adam Graves (1991-92, 1992-93, 1993-94, 1998-99, 1999-00) as the only players who have won the Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award three times, having previously captured the honor in 2008-09 and 2009-10.

Callahan was originally selected by the Rangers in the fourth round, 127th overall, in the 2004 NHL Entry Draft. On September 12, 201, he was named the 26th captain in franchise history after serving as an alternate captain the previous two seasons. He became the fifth-youngest captain in team history and the first homegrown captain since Brian Leetch held the post from October 3, 1997 to July 13, 2000.
View More