Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

AHL Announces Division Realignment

by Staff Writer / New York Rangers
Hartford Wolf Pack General Manager Al Coates announced today that the American Hockey League Board of Governors has approved a divisional alignment which features six divisions in two conferences.

The Wolf Pack will play in the East Division of the Eastern Conference, where they will be joined by the Albany River Rats, Bridgeport Sound Tigers, Providence Bruins, and Springfield Falcons.

"We'e pleased with the alignment," said Coates. "We are able to maintain our two biggest rivalries with Springfield and Providence, and open the door to some great competition with our new neighbors in Bridgeport, and re-establish some old rivalries with some of the league's other new cities."

As the American Hockey League expands to an all-time high of 27 teams for the coming year, Hartford fans will notice several familiar cities on the AHL map. Chicago, Winnipeg, Houston, Quebec, and Philadelphia, all of whom were once home to NHL and/or WHA rivals for Hartford, are all AHL markets today, and each is slated to make at least one visit to the Hartford Civic Center in 2001-02.

The East Division will house the AHL affiliates of New York's three metropolitan clubs, the New York Rangers (Hartford), New York Islanders (Bridgeport), and New Jersey Devils (Albany).
View More