Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Nashville Predators

This Month in Preds History: June

by Nashville Predators / Nashville Predators
The month of June holds an important place in Nashville Predators history. From the original granting of the franchise to hosting the 2003 NHL Entry Draft, here's a look back at the most memorable June moments in club history.

June 25, 1997: Leipold Hockey Holdings, LLC was granted a conditional franchise by the NHL Board of Governors. The Nashville Predators began play as the 27th franchise in League history in October of 1998.

June 19, 1998: Brent Peterson was named as an assistant coach. Peterson remained behind the Nashville bench until 2011, when he joined the Hockey Operations Department and then the Preds broadcast team.

June 27, 1998: The Nashville Predators became the 27th NHL team to participate in the NHL Entry Draft. The Predators selected David Legwand with the second overall pick.

June 21-22, 2003: The Nashville Predators hosted the 2003 NHL Entry Draft at Bridgestone Arena and made 13 picks overall, including eight of the first 98 players selected in what has become known as the top-producing draft in NHL history. More than 13,000 fans attended the two-day event which had an estimated economic impact of nearly $10 million on Middle Tennessee.

June 18, 2009: Steve Sullivan becomes Nashville's first award recipient, winning the Bill Masterton Trophy, given to the player who "best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey." Sullivan returned on Jan. 10, 2009 from a 23-month absence due to injury.

June 20, 2012: For the second consecutive season, four members of the organization were finalists at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas. Mike Fisher became the second award winner in franchise history, earning the NHL Foundation Award, which recognizes a player who applies the core values of hockey - commitment, perseverance and teamwork - to enrich the lives of people in his community. Both Pekka Rinne (Vezina Trophy) and Shea Weber (Norris Trophy) were finalists for awards given to the top players at their respective positions for the second-straight year, while David Poile was nominated for the GM of the Year Award for the third-straight campaign.

View More