Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Nashville Predators

Suter Named to Team USA Olympic Orientation Camp Roster

by Staff Writer / Nashville Predators
(from USA Hockey)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - USA Hockey today announced that 34 players, representing 22 National Hockey League teams, have been invited to the U.S. Olympic Men's Ice Hockey Orientation Camp from Aug. 17-19, at Seven Bridges Ice Arena in Woodridge, Ill. Predators defenseman Ryan Suter was one of the 12 defensemen invited to the camp.

The camp is designed to assist in the preparation of the 2010 U.S. Olympic Men's Ice Hockey Team that will compete at the XXI Olympic Winter Games to be held from Feb. 12-28, 2010, in Vancouver, B.C.

Of the 34 players invited to the camp, five have previous Olympic experience, led by three-time Olympian Mike Modano (Livonia, Mich./Dallas Stars/1998, 2002, 2006). Additional Olympians include Chris Drury (Trumbull, Conn./New York Rangers/2002, 2006), Brian Rafalski (Dearborn, Mich./Detroit Red Wings/2002, 2006), Scott Gomez (Anchorage, Alaska/New York Rangers/2006) and Jamie Langenbrunner (Cloquet, Minn./New Jersey Devils/1998).

Other players highlighting the roster include 2009 Vezina Trophy winner Tim Thomas (Flint, Mich./Boston Bruins); Zach Parise (Minneapolis, Minn./New Jersey Devils), who led all Americans with 45 goals and 94 points during the 2008-09 season; and NHL Entry Draft No. 1 overall picks Erik Johnson (Bloomington, Minn./St. Louis Blues) and Patrick Kane (Buffalo, N.Y./Chicago Blackhawks).

Eight players included on the orientation camp roster played for the U.S. Men's National Team at the 2009 International Ice Hockey Federation World Championship in Bern, Switzerland, including defensemen Ron Hainsey (Bolton, Conn./Atlanta Thrashers), Jack Johnson (Indianapolis, Ind./Los Angeles Kings) and Ryan Suter (Madison, Wis./Nashville Predators), as well as forwards David Backes (Minneapolis, Minn./St. Louis Blues), Dustin Brown (Ithaca, N.Y./Los Angeles Kings), Kyle Okposo (St. Paul, Minn./New York Islanders), T.J. Oshie (Warroad, Minn./St. Louis Blues) and Joe Pavelski (Stevens Point, Wis./San Jose Sharks).

2009 U.S. Olympic Men's Ice Hockey Orientation Camp Roster
Goaltenders: Ryan Miller, Jonathan Quick, Tim Thomas
Defensemen: Tom Gilbert, Tim Gleason, Ron Hainsey, Erik Johnson, Jack Johnson, Mike Komisarek, Paul Martin, Brooks Orpik, Brian Rafalski, Rob Scuderi, Ryan Suter, Ryan Whitney
Forwards: David Backes, David Booth, Dustin Brown, Dustin Byfuglien, Ryan Callahan, Chris Drury, Scott Gomez, Patrick Kane, Ryan Kesler, Phil Kessel, Jamie Langenbrunner, Ryan Malone, Mike Modano, Kyle Okposo, T.J. Oshie, Zach Parise, Joe Pavelski, Bobby Ryan, Paul Stastny.

NOTES: The 2010 U.S. Olympic Men's Ice Hockey Team is under the direction of Brian Burke, general manager; David Poile, associate general manager; and Jim Johannson, assistant executive director of hockey operations for USA Hockey ... The orientation camp roster includes 18 first-round NHL draft picks ... Eleven players invited to the camp have been part of USA Hockey's highly successful National Team Development Program ... A total of 25 players on the orientation camp roster have played U.S. college hockey ... The 2010 U.S. Olympic Men's Ice Hockey Team team will be coached by Ron Wilson with John Tortorella and Scott Gordon serving as assistant coaches ... USA Hockey's international council, chaired by Tony Rossi, vice president of USA Hockey, has oversight responsibilities for all U.S. National Teams ... The 2010 Olympic Winter Games will take place February 12-28, 2010, in Vancouver, B.C.

View More