Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Nashville Predators

Salute to State Champions: Martin Luther King, Jr. Magnet High School Men's Cross Country and Track State Champs

by Staff Writer / Nashville Predators
Preds Salute Martin Luther King, Jr. Magnet High School Men’s Cross Country and Track State Champs

For the second consecutive season the Nashville Predators and BlueCross BlueShield have created a program to recognize the achievements in amateur athletics in the greater Nashville area. During the 2009-10 season the BlueCross BlueShield Salute to State Champions program will recognize area high school athletic teams that earn a state title for their school. The selected teams will have their hard work and dedication acknowledged at a Predators game.

The Nashville Predators would like to congratulate Head Coach Stephen Dorris and the Martin Luther King, Jr. Magnet High School Men’s Cross Country and Track team as Decemberr’s Salute to State Champions team.

“2008 was our first state champ in cross country and we had a very strong returning group of seniors so we knew we should be one of the favorites, but things never go as planed,” coach Dorris stated. “We had plenty of injuries and surprises throughout the season. It taught us not to take anything for granted.”

“The track team was completely unexpected. We had a strong team but we had lost a couple of key members during the season. We went into the state meet not being even the top team in our section. However in the state meet we had just enough, really just enough people having really big days, great days. Where basically we had a perfect day” Dorris added about the MLK track team.

Dorris, the coaching staff and the Martin Luther King, Jr. Magnet High School Men’s Cross Country and Track team attended the Dec. 8th vs. the Vancouver Canucks where they were recognized for their achievements.

Cross Country Awards:

2008 and 2009 A-AA Cross Country Team State Champions

Ryan Graves:
A-AA State Runner Up, All Metro

John Gilpin:
A-AA All State

Track and Field Awards:

2009 A-AA Boys Track And Field Team State Champions

Ben Tankard-
110m High Hurdles: A-AA State Champion, Great 8 Champion
300m Intermediate Hurdles: A-AA State Champion
Long Jump: A-AA State Runner Up
Selected Track and Field All Midstate by the Tennessean

Micah Wasserman-
800m Run: 3rd Place A-AA State Championship
1600m Run: 3rd Place A-AA State Championship

Cody Simons:
Shot Put: 6th Place A-AA State Championship

4x100 Relay: Aaron Hemphill, Alex Gray, Leonard Jordan, Nick Hill
8th Place A-AA State Championship

4x400 Relay: Nick Hill, Rashad Taylor, Sam Birch, Micah Wasserman
8th Place A-AA State Championship

4x800 Relay: John Gilpin, Gerald Batey, Joseph DeHarde, Ryan Graves
5th Place A-AA State Championship

2009 MLK Track and Field Roster                                     2009 MLK Cross Country Roster

Class of 2009
Shabir Bhegani-Hurdles
Jonathan Gilbreath-Distance
Class of 2010
Jovi Chittaphong-Distance
Blake Edwards-Multi events
Jason Fox-Distance
John Gilpin-Distance
Ryan Graves-Distance
Byron Head-Pole Vault
Leonard Jordan-Sprints
Brendan Kirkland-Sprints
Matt Mouser-Hurdles
Christ Schmidt-Pole Vault
Ben Tankard-Hurdles
Cody Simons-Throws
Dah’jyon Walden-Sprints
Micah Wasserman-Distance

Austin Williams-Sprints

Class of 2011
Gerald Batey-Distance
Sam Brobeck-Distance
Lyle Burns-Throws
Kameron Carter-Distance
Willie Clark-Distance

Brandon Crowder-Sprints

Joseph DeHarde-Distance
Christian DeJarnette-Distance
Enest Ekwugha-Hurdles RIP
David Gilmore-Distance
Alex Gray-Sprints
Aaron Hemphill-Sprints
Nick Hill-Sprints
Ombeni Idassi-Jumps
Rashad Taylor-Sprints
Class of 2012
Denzel Baxter-Throws
Sam Birch-Sprints
Joe Francisco-Sprints
Anthony Johnson-Sprints
Cameron Low-Distance
Class of 2010
CJ Cassel
Jovi Chittaphong
Jason Fox
John Gilpin
Ryan Graves
Wil Heidorn
Saad Rehman
Micah Wasserman
Austin Williams
Class of 2011
Sam Brobeck
Kameron Carter
Willie Clark
Joseph DeHarde
Christian DeJarnette
Simon Engel
David Gilmore
Class of 2012
Chris Calhoun
Kanyanta Mwenya
Sky Sanderson
Class of 2013
Max Barry
Bemenet Getachew
Colin Harney
Sam Klockenkemper
Class of 2014
Chris Fleming
Jansen Gibson
Ben Rosenberg

Dallas Westveer

View More