Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Nashville Predators

Preds Voice Pete Weber Named Tennessee Sportscaster of the Year

by Staff Writer / Nashville Predators

Weber Tennessee Sportscaster, Wyatt Sportswriter of Year

SALISBURY, NC (January 9, 2012) – Bob Costas of NBC Sports and the Major League Baseball Network and John Feinstein of the Washington Post have been elected to the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association’s Hall of Fame, NSSA Executive Director Dave Goren announced today. Costas and Feinstein will be honored at the 53rd Annual NSSA Awards Banquet on June 11, 2012 in Salisbury, NC. The event marks the 50th anniversary of the NSSA’s Hall of Fame.

Sharing the stage with Costas and Feinstein will be National Sportscaster of the Year Dan Shulman of ESPN and National Sportswriter of the Year Joe Posnanski of Sports Illustrated, along with 103 State Sportscasters and Sportswriters of the Year from throughout the United States.

The ‘Voice of the Nashville Predators,’ Pete Weber is the Tennessee Sportscaster of the Year. Jim Wyatt of the Tennesseean is the Tennessee Sportswriter of the Year. It’s the first win for Weber, fourth for Wyatt.

Costas has starred on network television in many different roles. A 22-time Emmy Award winner, he has spent more than 30 years at NBC. The 2012 London Olympics this summer will mark Costas’s 10th with NBC and ninth as primetime host, more than any other. Since 2005, Costas has also hosted Football Night In America. And, he serves as play-by-play announcer and host for the Major League Baseball Network.

Feinstein is the bestselling author of more than two dozen books, including his latest release, One on One. He has also written for the Washington Post,,The National Sports Daily, Golf Digest and Golf World, and is a regular commentator on the Golf Channel.

Shulman handles play-by-play for ESPN’s NBA coverage, Saturday night primetime college basketball and Sunday Night Baseball. Before starting at ESPN in 1995, Shulman worked for Canada’s national sports network, The Sports Network (TSN), calling play-by-play for the Toronto Blue Jays, Toronto Raptors and Vancouver Grizzlies. He is also the first two-time winner of Sports Media Canada Broadcaster of the Year award.

Twice named best sports columnist by the Associated Press Sports Editors, Posnanski now serves as a senior writer at Sports Illustrated and Before heading to Sports Illustrated, Posnanski was a sports columnist for 13 years at The Kansas City Star. He also wrote for The Charlotte Observer, The Augusta Chronicle and The Cincinnati Post. An author of three books, Posnanski is currently working on a book about recently-fired Penn State football coach Joe Paterno.

Among the 103 state winners are: Los Angeles Dodgers play-by-play announcer Vin Scully, who won his 31st California Sportscaster of the Year Award; University of New Hampshire play-by-play announcer Jim Jeannotte (23rd New Hampshire Sportscaster of the Year Award); Indiana University play-by-play announcer Don Fischer (22nd Indiana Sportscaster of the Year Award). There are also 36 first-time winners.

View More